EarthQuaker Devices Debuts New Astral Destiny Reverb Pedal

EarthQuaker Devices' new Astral Destiny pedal
(Image credit: EarthQuaker Devices)

EarthQuaker Devices has debuted its new Astral Destiny modulated octave reverb pedal.

Adorned with decidedly celestial artwork, the Astral Destiny comes loaded with eight reverb types – Abyss, Shimmer, Sub, Sub Shimmer, Astral, Ascend, Descend, and Cosmos – and eight presets.

The eight reverbs operate as follows: 

  • Abyss: A massive reverb with no octave effect
  • Shimmer: Adds an upper octave to the reverb tail
  • Sub: Adds a lower octave to the reverb tail
  • Sub Shimmer: Adds an upper and lower octave to the reverb tail
  • Astral: Adds an upper and lower octave plus a regenerating tail
  • Ascend: Allows for upward pitch bending
  • Descend: Allows for downward pitch bending
  • Cosmos: Adds a regenerating fifth to the reverb tail

The pedal features an assignable expression pedal control, while its Stretch feature doubles the reverb length while adding an adjustable pitch bending effect. Depth and rate controls, meanwhile, allow for full control of the pedal’s chorus modulation.

Other features on the Astral Destiny include buffered bypass switching with tails/no tails operation, and an all-analog dry signal path for keeping track of your original tone.

The EarthQuaker Devices Astral Destiny reverb pedal runs on 9V DC power, and is available now for $199.

For more info on the pedal, stop by

Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, and

Jackson is an Associate Editor at and He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.