Hear Yngwie Malmsteen Unleash "Relentless Fury" on New Single

Yngwie Malmsteen performs during the Generation Axe show at The Joint inside the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino on November 9, 2018 in Las Vegas, Nevada
(Image credit: Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

Last month, neoclassical shred titan Yngwie Malmsteen announced his 22nd solo album, Parabellum, and released its first single, "Wolves At The Door." 

Now, Malmsteen has released the album's second single, the rather aptly titled "Relentless Fury."

You can check out the song – which closes with a bonanza of alternate picking, monster bends, and other fiery six-string acrobatics – below.

In a statement, Malmsteen cited the song as a "good example of how you can take a simple groove and melody and take it to a whole new world with different harmonies, instrumentation, and voices."

Malmsteen's first solo effort since 2019's Blue Lightning, Parabellum is set for a July 23 release via Music Theories Recordings.

“I always try to push myself on every album I do, and attempt things which are more extreme than previously," Malmsteen said of the album. "But what has helped this time is that I wasn't able to go on the road because of the pandemic. It meant I could take much longer in the studio, both to write and record. 

"Because I am usually always on tour, which is great, I haven't had the luxury of spending a lot of time working on new music for more than 20 years. But I suddenly had no pressure at all on that front. And I feel the album has benefited enormously as a result.”

You can check out Parabellum's cover art and track list below. 

To preorder the album, step right this way.

The cover of Yngwie Malmsteen's new album, 'Parabellum'

(Image credit: Music Theories Recordings)

Yngwie Malmsteen – Parabellum:

1. Wolves At The Door
2. Presto Vivace in C# Minor
3. Relentless Fury
4. (Si Vis Pacem) Parabellum
5. Eternal Bliss
6. Toccata
7. God Particle
8. Magic Bullet
9. (Fight) The Good Fight
10. Sea Of Tranquility

Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, GuitarWorld.com and GuitarPlayer.com

Jackson is an Associate Editor at GuitarWorld.com and GuitarPlayer.com. He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.