Yngwie Malmsteen Announces New Album, 'Parabellum'

Yngwie Malmsteen performs at The Fillmore on November 21, 2018 in Detroit, Michigan
(Image credit: Scott Legato/Getty Images)

Yngwie Malmsteen has announced a new solo album, Parabellum.

The new full-length – the virtuoso's 22nd solo offering, and first since 2019's Blue Lightning – is set for a July 23 release via Music Theories Recordings.

You can check out the album's first single – the characteristically intense, light-speed, "Wolves At The Door" – below.

“I always try to push myself on every album I do, and attempt things which are more extreme than previously," Malmsteen said in a statement. "But what has helped this time is that I wasn't able to go on the road because of the pandemic. It meant I could take much longer in the studio, both to write and record. 

"Because I am usually always on tour, which is great, I haven't had the luxury of spending a lot of time working on new music for more than 20 years.  But I suddenly had no pressure at all on that front. And I feel the album has benefited enormously as a result.”

You can check out Parabellum's cover art and track list below. 

To preorder the album, step right this way.

The cover of Yngwie Malmsteen's new album, 'Parabellum'

(Image credit: Music Theories Recordings)

Yngwie Malmsteen – Parabellum:

1. Wolves At The Door
2. Presto Vivace in C# Minor
3. Relentless Fury
4. (Si Vis Pacem) Parabellum
5. Eternal Bliss
6. Toccata
7. God Particle
8. Magic Bullet
9. (Fight) The Good Fight
10. Sea Of Tranquility

Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, GuitarWorld.com and GuitarPlayer.com

Jackson is an Associate Editor at GuitarWorld.com and GuitarPlayer.com. He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.