Julian Lage Announces New Album, 'Squint'

Julian Lage
(Image credit: Alysse Gafkjen)

Fresh off the announcement of his second signature Collings guitar, the 470 JL, Julian Lage has announced a new solo album, Squint.

His debut for the vaunted Blue Note Records, it features the jazz guitar virtuoso with his trusty Julian Lage Trio bandmates – bassist Jorge Roeder and drummer Dave King.

Set for a June 11 release, it was recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium studios last August, after planned sessions in the spring were cancelled due to the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

You can check out the album's lead single, "Saint Rose," below.

“Going into this album, my first tactic was just to make positive, beautiful music – a beam of light from three cats who love each other," Lage said of the album in a statement. 

"After the recording didn't happen, I started reflecting on the music’s intent. It was clearer than ever that art and music are platforms to influence and heal and facilitate conversations. It became really important to me to capture a certain sense of emotional complexity to the music, a little fuzziness. This record sits comfortably in the unknown.”

Lage co-produced Squint with guitarist and longtime collaborator Armand Hirsch and singer-songwriter Margaret Glaspy. “On one level, the combination of Margaret and Armand is just abundant support,” Lage said of their contribution, "but I also have such deep respect for what they both bring to the music. 

"They helped make sure that the essential experience was always there, that Squint never became a pursuit to make a good jazz guitar record, but to create music with a clear spiritual pulse.”

To preorder Squint, point your browser this way. You can check out the album's cover art and track list below.

The cover of Julian Lage's upcoming album, 'Squint'

(Image credit: Blue Note Records)

Julian Lage – Squint

1. Etude 
2. Boo's Blues 
3. Squint
4. Saint Rose 
5. Emily 
6. Familiar Flower 
7. Day and Age 
8. Quiet Like A Fuse 
9. Short Form 
10. Twilight Surfer 
11. Call of The Canyon 

Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, GuitarWorld.com and GuitarPlayer.com

Jackson is an Associate Editor at GuitarWorld.com and GuitarPlayer.com. He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.