Skip to main content

Hear "4 Edward," Nancy Wilson's Tribute to Eddie Van Halen

Nancy Wilson performs live in 2018
(Image credit: Daniel Knighton/Getty Images)

Back in February, Heart guitarist Nancy Wilson announced – just a month after the reveal of her Nighthawk-influenced Epiphone Fanatic signature guitar, no less – her first-ever solo album, You and Me.

At the time, Wilson revealed that the LP would feature guest spots from the likes of Sammy Hagar, Duff McKagan, Taylor Hawkins, and Liv Warfield, and close with "4 Edward," a tribute to Eddie Van Halen.

Now, Wilson has released the acoustic, instrumental tribute, which was inspired by an interaction Wilson had with Eddie when Heart was on tour with Van Halen.

You can check the piece out below.

Having asked Eddie one day during the tour why he never played an acoustic on stage, Eddie replied that he didn't even own an acoustic guitar. Wilson soon fixed that, gifting Eddie an acoustic that he would use to write a song that "stole Wilson's heart." Wilson wrote “4 Edward” as a way of returning the favor.

You and Me is set for a May 7 release via Carry On Music. You can check out its track list and cover art below.

The cover of Nancy Wilson's solo debut, 'You and Me'

(Image credit: Carry On Music)

Nancy Wilson – You and Me:

1. You and Me
2. The Rising
3.  I’ll Find You
4.  Daughter
5.  Party at the Angel Ballroom (with Duff McKagan & Taylor Hawkins)
6.  The Boxer (with Sammy Hagar)
7.  Walk Away
8.  The Inbetween
9.  Dreams (with Liv Warfield)
10.  The Dragon
11.  We Meet Again
12.  4 Edward