Steve Hackett Announces New Album, 'Surrender of Silence'

Steve Hackett performs at the Eventim Apollo on November 29, 2019 in London
(Image credit: C Brandon/Redferns)

Following his enthralling acoustic travelogue, Under a Mediterranean Sky, Steve Hackett has announced a new solo album, Surrender of Silence.

His second album of 2021, Surrender of Silence sees the former Genesis guitarist pick up an electric once again, and – according to a press release – explore his love of world music. It's set for a September 10 release via Inside Out Music.

The album features Hackett's touring band of Roger King (keyboards, programming, and orchestral arrangements), Rob Townsend (sax, clarinet), Jonas Reingold (bass), Nad Sylvan (vocals), and Craig Blundell (drums), plus Phil Ehart and Nick D’Virgilio on drums, Amanda Lehmann, Durga, and Lorelei McBroom on vocals, Christine Townsend on violin and viola, Malik Mansurov on tar, and Sodirkhon Ubaidulloev on dutar.

The cover of Steve Hackett's new album, 'Surrender of Silence'

(Image credit: Inside Out Music)

“Lockdown cobwebs are blown away in one fell-swoop here!” Hackett said of the album in a press release. 

“With the monster rhythm section of Jonas, Craig, Nick, and Phil along with Rob’s soaring sax and bass clarinet, Nad, Amanda, and myself on vocals, Roger’s darkly powerful organ, and my guitar, we plunge full-pelt into that wild release of energy.”

Surrender of Silence was produced by Hackett with Roger King. You can check out its tracklist below.

Steve Hackett – Surrender of Silence:

  1. The Obliterati
  2. Natalia
  3. Relaxation Music For Sharks (Featuring Feeding Frenzy)
  4. Wingbeats
  5. The Devil's Cathedral
  6. Held In The Shadows
  7. Shanghai To Samarkand
  8. Fox's Tango
  9. Day Of The Dead
  10. Scorched Earth
  11. Esperanza
Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, and

Jackson is an Associate Editor at and He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.