Listen to The Beatles’ New Release: “Tomorrow Never Knows (Take 1)”

The Beatles 'Revolver' Special Edition release
(Image credit: Capitol)

On October 28, The Beatles will be releasing Special Editions of their 1966 classic, Revolver.

This follows the highly acclaimed remixed and expanded Special Editions of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (2017), The Beatles/‘White Album’ (2018), Abbey Road (2019) and Let It Be (2021).

The band’s seventh studio album, Revolver picked up from where Rubber Soul left off as the Beatles continued to experiment with new guitar sounds and trippy studio effects in the era of psychedelia.

By the mid-‘60s, fuzz boxes like the Sola Sound Tone Bender and WEM Rush Pepbox (as used by Paul McCartney and John Lennon, respectively) began to define the sound of psychedelic rock.

And with a wildly experimental approach to recording, the band pursued exciting new sound effects via the medium of analog tape.

These effects, such as delay/loops, reverse tracks, pitch alteration and chorus-like ADT (automatic double tracking) are now commonplace on the modern guitar player’s pedalboard.

While Revolver’s original mono mix will be available, new mixes (featured on all release formats) sourced directly from the original four-track master tapes have been created in stereo and Dolby Atmos by producer Giles Martin and engineer Sam Okell.

Top of the pile is the Super Deluxe version containing 63 tracks in hi res 96kHz/24-bit digital format and spread across 5 vinyl/CD discs. A 100-page hardbound book in a 12.56” x 12.36” slipcase is also included.

This Special Edition release contains the following:

  • DISC 1: Revolver (new stereo mix): 14 tracks
  • DISCS 2 & 3: Sessions (stereo & mono): 31 tracks
  • DISC 4: Revolver (original mono master): 14 tracks
  • DISC 5: Revolver EP: 4 tracks

Along with a 40-page booklet abridged from the Super Deluxe book, the Deluxe Special Edition contains 29 tracks and arrives in a dual CD digipak, as follows:

  • DISC 1: Revolver (new stereo mix): 14 tracks
  • DISC 2: Sessions highlights + “Paperback Writer” & “Rain” (new stereo mixes): 15 tracks

The Standard 14-track version appears in the following formats:

  • Digital (new album mix in stereo & hi res 96kHz/24-bit stereo + new Dolby Atmos mix)
  • 1CD in digipak (new stereo mix)
  • 1LP (new stereo mix) on half-speed mastered 180-gram vinyl
  • Limited Edition 1LP vinyl picture disc (new stereo mix) illustrated with the album cover art

Pre-order here.

Rod Brakes

Rod Brakes is a music journalist with an expertise in guitars. Having spent many years at the coalface as a guitar dealer and tech, Rod's more recent work as a writer covering artists, industry pros and gear includes contributions for leading publications and websites such as GuitaristTotal Guitar, Guitar WorldGuitar Player and MusicRadar in addition to specialist music books, blogs and social media. He is also a lifelong musician.