John McLaughlin Announces New Album, 'Liberation Time'

John McLaughlin performs live in Seattle in 2017
(Image credit: Jim Bennett/Getty Images)

John McLaughlin has announced a new album, Liberation Time.

Set for a July 16 release via Abstract Logix, the remotely-recorded Liberation Time features a number of musicians, including: Nicolas Viccaro on drums, Jerome Regard on bass, Julian Siegel on tenor saxophone, and Oz Ezzeldin on piano (on "Right Here, Right Now, Right On"); Vinnie Colaiuta (drums), Sam Burgess (bass), and Gary Husband (piano) (on "As the Spirit Sings"); plus McLaughlin's normal 4th Dimension rhythm section – bassist Etienne Mbappe and drummer Ranjit Barot.

You can check out a preview of the album below.

Liberation Time features "Lockdown Blues" – the single McLaughlin released with the 4th Dimension last spring – and solo piano pieces, the first solo piano work McLaughlin has released since his 1973 Carlos Santana collaboration, Love Devotion Surrender.

Of the long-distance nature of Liberation Time's recording, McLaughlin said “The wonderful thing about music is that you put the headphones on and you are all in the same room.” You can check out its cover art and track list below.

To preorder the album, step right this way.

The cover of John McLaughlin's 'Liberation Time'

(Image credit: Abstract Logix)

John McLaughlin – Liberation Time:

  1. The Spirit Sings
  2. Singing Our Secrets
  3. Lockdown Blues
  4. Mila Repa
  5. Right Here, Right Now, Right On
  6. Shade of Blue
  7. Liberation Times
Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, and

Jackson is an Associate Editor at and He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.