Historic Eric Clapton Performance and Martin Scorsese Interview Finally Gets Official DVD and Blu-ray Release

Eric Clapton performs at Madison Square Garden on October 8, 1994 in New York City.
(Image credit: Kevin Mazur/Getty Images)

Eric Clapton fans will be delighted to hear Reprise Records are releasing the long-awaited documentary Nothing But the Blues in high-quality 4K format with remixed audio on DVD and Blu-ray.

Essential viewing for any blues guitar fan, the film was originally aired in the U.S. on PBS in 1995, picking up an Emmy nomination in the process.

Written and produced by Scooter Weintraub, the movie features an in-depth interview with Clapton conducted by executive producer Martin Scorsese (Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Goodfellas.) 

During their discussion, Clapton talks about his love for the blues and the artists he took inspiration from, notably Muddy Waters, B.B. King, Robert Johnson, Howlin’ Wolf, Buddy Guy and T-Bone Walker.

In addition to the newly upgraded film, fans can now also enjoy over an hour’s worth of previously unreleased soundtrack material on CD and vinyl. While the DVD and Blu-ray releases feature 20 tracks, the standalone CD and 2-LP formats contain 17 and 18 tracks respectively.

Recorded at the Fillmore in San Francisco during Clapton’s 1994 tour in support of his multi-Platinum, Grammy-winning album From the Cradle, these songs comprise familiar blues standards as well as some lesser-known blues numbers.

A teaser from Nothing But the Blues was released a few days ago…

A Super Deluxe Edition will also be available. This release contains a Blu-ray disc, the soundtrack on double-LP and CD, plus a bonus CD with four extra tracks, namely “Driftin’,” County Jail Blues,” “Kid Man Blues,” and “It’s Too Bad.”

Also included in this fan’s treasure trove is a hardcover book, a numbered lithograph, a 12x24 poster, a set of Clapton guitar strings, custom guitar picks, and an exclusive bandana.

DVD and Blu-ray track listing is as follows:

  • “Blues All Day Long”
  • “Standin’ Round Crying”
  • “Forty-Four”
  • “It Hurts Me Too”
  • “Early In The Morning”
  • “Five Long Years”
  • Crossroads
  • “Malted Milk Blues”
  • “Motherless Child”
  • “How Long Blues”
  • “Reconsider Baby”
  • “Sinner’s Prayer”
  • “Every Day I Have The Blues”
  • “Crosscut Saw”
  • “Someday After A While”
  • “Have You Ever Loved  A Woman”
  • I’m Tore Down
  • “Groaning The Blues”
  • “T’Ain’t Nobody’s Bizness”
  • “Driftin” (Bonus Track)

Eric Clapton 'Nothing But the Blues' Super Deluxe Edition

(Image credit: Reprise)

Pre-order the Nothing But the Blues Super Deluxe Edition here.

Rod Brakes

Rod Brakes is a music journalist with an expertise in guitars. Having spent many years at the coalface as a guitar dealer and tech, Rod's more recent work as a writer covering artists, industry pros and gear includes contributions for leading publications and websites such as GuitaristTotal Guitar, Guitar WorldGuitar Player and MusicRadar in addition to specialist music books, blogs and social media. He is also a lifelong musician.