Hear Robin Trower's Fiery New Track, The Razor's Edge

Robin Trower performs at the Royal Oak Music Theater on April 7, 2018 in Royal Oak, Michigan
(Image credit: Scott Legato/Getty Images)

Robin Trower has premiered "The Razor's Edge," the second single from his forthcoming album, No More Worlds to Conquer.

Following the album's title track, which was released in February, "The Razor's Edge" is a searing indictment of the political class, with lyrics by Trower and vocals by Richard Watts. You can hear it below.

The song, Trower says, features “some of my favorite guitar work I’ve played on a recording in a long time,” and we don't disagree. The tone master is simply on fire, making good use of his wah pedal and making statements with his Strat that're as cutting as his lyrics. 

You can hear the song below.

Set for an April 29 release via Provogue/Mascot Label Group, No More Worlds to Conquer is Trower's first solo effort since 2019's Coming Closer to the Day, and features him on electric guitar and bass, and Chris Taggart on drums. 

“This album is an evolution," Trower says. "I’m hoping that’s what is always happening with my music. There’s a huge step between Bridge Of Sighs [his landmark 1974 album] and now. It’s like anything. The more you work on it, in theory, the better you should be at it. And I definitely feel like this album is one of the best things I’ve ever done.”

You can check out No More Worlds to Conquer's cover art and tracklist below. 

To preorder the album, visit Trower's website.

The cover of Robin Trower's forthcoming album, 'No More Worlds to Conquer'

(Image credit: Provogue/Mascot Label Group)

Robin Trower – No More Worlds to Conquer:

1. Ball of Fire
2. No More Worlds to Conquer
3. Deadly Kiss
4. Birdsong
5. Losing You
6. Waiting for the Rain to Fall
7. Wither on the Vine
8. Cloud Across the Sun
9. Fire to Ashes
10. The Razor's Edge
11. I Will Always Be Your Shelter

Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, GuitarWorld.com and GuitarPlayer.com

Jackson is an Associate Editor at GuitarWorld.com and GuitarPlayer.com. He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.