“One of the most celebrated periods in the annals of rock, revisited”: Michael Schenker teams up with Slash, Adrian Vandenberg, and more for album of UFO re-recordings

Michael Schenker performs onstage at the O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire in London on November 30, 2023
(Image credit: C Brandon/Redferns)

Electric guitar great Michael Schenker is paying homage to his UFO glory days with a brand new studio album, and he’s teamed up with Slash for its lead single. 

My Years with UFO marks over 50 years since the ‘German wunderkid’ joined UFO’s ranks aged just 17. His talents helped propel the band to new heights during his original, '70s-era tenure, creating “one of the most celebrated periods in the annals of rock” in the process.   

The record sees Schenker and an all-star cast of guest musicians putting a fresh spin on UFO classics, with a Slash-lacquered take on Mother Mary giving the first taste of what’s to come. 

Erik Grönwall (previously of HEAT and Skid Row) handles vocal duties for the track, but it’s the Slash/Schenker partnership that grabs the headlines – and in some style. 

Re-energized with modern production, the guitars are thick and lead lines plentiful as Schenker makes the most of his Rolodex for the new record. 

Adrian Vandenberg appears on Too Hot to Handle alongside Joe Lynn Turner and Carmine Appice, with other guitarists hand-selected by Schenker including Whitesnake’s Joel Hoekstra, Gamma Ray’s Kai Hansen, John Norum (ex-Europe), and Michael Voss. 

Watch On

Meanwhile, there's a revolving cast of vocalists, including Axl Rose, Biff Byford, Joey Tempest, and Dee Snider. Deep Purple's mainstay bass player, Roger Glover, lends his low-end to Only You Can Rock Me.

A total of 11 tracks have been revisited for the record, with Schenker’s core band made up of Derek Sherinian on keyboards, Brian Tichy on drums, and Barry Sparks on bass. 

Schenker guested on Sherinian's 2022 album, Vortex, alongside Zakk Wylde, Nuno Bettencourt, and Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal. 

Though short-lived, Schenker’s time in UFO produced five studio albums, and the now-iconic Strangers in the Night live album, which features one of Kirk Hammet’s favorite ‘under the radar’ solos

The cover of Michael Schenker's My Years with UFO album

(Image credit: Michael Schenker)

My Years with UFO releases worldwide on September 20. It will be the first of a trilogy of new albums for the guitarist, who has penned a record deal with earMUSIC. Follow-ups are expected in 2025 and 2026. 

Head to Michael Schenker for more information.

Michael Schenker – My Years with UFO

1. Natural Thing (feat. Dee Snider & Joel Hoekstra)
2. Only You Can Rock Me (feat. Joey Tempest & Roger Glover)
3. Doctor Doctor (feat. Joe Lynn Turner & Carmine Appice)
4. Mother Mary (feat. Slash & Erik Grönwall)
5. This Kids (feat. Biff Byford)
6. Love to Love (feat. Axl Rose)
7. Lights Out (feat. Jeff Scott Soto & John Norum)
8. Rock Bottom (feat. Kai Hansen)
9. Too Hot Too Handle (feat. Joe Lynn Turner, Adrian Vandenberg & Carmen Appice)
10. Let It Roll (feat. Michael Voss)
11. Shoot Shoot (feat. Stephen Pearcy)

Phil Weller

A freelance writer with a penchant for music that gets weird, Phil is a regular contributor to ProgGuitar World, and Total Guitar magazines and is especially keen on shining a light on unknown artists. Outside of the journalism realm, you can find him writing angular riffs in progressive metal band, Prognosis, in which he slings an 8-string Strandberg Boden Original, churning that low string through a variety of tunings. He's also a published author and is currently penning his debut novel which chucks fantasy, mythology and humanity into a great big melting pot.