Joe Satriani Premieres New Song, "Big Distortion"

The appropriately-named new tune is the second single from Satch's upcoming album, 'Shapeshifting.'
Publish date:
joe satriani gp

Joe Satriani has premiered a new song, "Big Distortion."

The appropriately-titled new tune is the second single from Satch's forthcoming solo album, Shapeshifting. The album, Satch's 17th, was produced by Satriani and Jim Scott, who has worked with the Foo Fighters, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. It's set for an April 10 release via Sony/Legacy.

You can give "Big Distortion" a listen below.

Satriani is joined on Shapeshifting by drummer Kenny Aronoff, bassist Chris Chaney and keyboardist Eric Caudieux, with additional contributions from Lisa Coleman (of The Revolution) and Christopher Guest.

You can preorder Shapeshifting right here, and check out its album art and tracklist below.

For more on Satriani and his music, point your browser over to

joe satriani shapeshifting cover

Joe Satriani - Shapeshifting

1. Shapeshifting
2. Big Distortion
3. All For Love
4. Ali Farka, Dick Dale, an Alien and Me
5. Teardrops
6. Perfect Dust
7. Nineteen Eighty
8. All My Friends Are Here
9. Spirits, Ghosts and Outlaws
10. Falling Stars
11. Waiting
12. Here The Blue River
13. Yesterday’s Yesterday