Steve Cropper Announces New Solo Album, ‘Fire It Up’

Steve Cropper performs at the at Macon City Auditorium on September 11, 2016 in Macon, Georgia
(Image credit: Chris McKay/Getty Images)

Soul guitar and session legend Steve Cropper has announced a new solo album, Fire It Up.

Set for an April 23 release via Provogue, Cropper is calling the album his first "proper" solo album since 1969. “This album is different from everything out there now,” he said. “I haven’t heard myself this way since the 60s.”

You can check out the album's first single, "Far Away," below.

In addition to his always-stirring guitar playing, Cropper produced the album, which stemmed from sessions with the Rascals’ Felix Cavaliere. “It’s made from old grooves, because during a lockdown, you work on stuff that’s been in your head for years,” Cropper said.

Though the album bears his name, Cropper wants it to be seen as a collaborative effort, remarking “This isn’t a battle of the bands... it’s better to enhance the other guy, make him shine.”

You can check out the album's cover art and tracklist below. To preorder the album, step right this way.

The cover of Steve Cropper's 'Fire It Up'

(Image credit: Mascot Label Group)

Steve Cropper – Fire It Up:

1. "Bush Hog Part 1"
2. "Fire It Up"
3. "One Good Turn"
4. "I'm Not Havin' It"
5. "Out of Love"
6. "Far Away"
7. "Say You Don't Know Me"
8. "She's So Fine"
9. "Two Wrongs"
10. "Heartbreak Street"
11. "The Go-Getter Is Gone"
12. "Bush Hog Part 2"
13. "Bush Hog"

Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, and

Jackson is an Associate Editor at and He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.