Listen to the newly released Eric Clapton recording “Born Under a Bad Sign”

Eric Clapton
(Image credit: Reprise/Warner)

Great news for Eric Clapton fans: a boxed set of vinyl comprising newly remastered versions of six of the guitarist’s solo albums from his Reprise Records era of the ‘80s and ‘90s is just weeks away.

Due out on September 30, The Complete Reprise Studio Albums – Volume I also contains a disc of rarities.

It is available to pre-order here.

Eric Clapton

(Image credit: Reprise/Warner)

Prior to this mammoth release, Clapton will be playing a run of U.S. dates with fellow blues-rock legend Jimmie Vaughan.

Containing the albums Money and Cigarettes (single-LP,) Behind the Sun, August, Journeyman, From the Cradle and Pilgrim (double-LPs) and an 8-track disk called Rarities Vol. 1, this incredible collection is made up of a dozen 180-gram vinyl records.

The Rarities Vol. 1 tracklist is as follows:

  1. “Stone Free”
  2. “Crossroads” – Live
  3. “White Room” – Live
  4. “Theme From a Movie That Never Happened” – Orchestral
  5. “Pilgrim” – Remix/previously unreleased
  6. “32-20 Blues” – Live
  7. “County Jail Blues” – Live
  8. “Born Under a Bad Sign” – Previously unreleased

You can listen to “Born Under a Bad Sign” here…

The Complete Reprise Studio Albums – Volume I was mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering and the lacquers for the LPs were cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering.

Early 2023 will see the release of a companion vinyl boxed set titled The Complete Reprise Studio Albums – Volume 2.

This next installation will comprise Clapton’s Reprise studio records released between 2001 to 2010. 

Similarly, an exclusive disc of rarities spanning the era will be included in the set.

More details on this will be coming soon. In the meantime, you can keep an eye on the Eric Clapton website for tour dates and news.

Rod Brakes

Rod Brakes is a music journalist with an expertise in guitars. Having spent many years at the coalface as a guitar dealer and tech, Rod's more recent work as a writer covering artists, industry pros and gear includes contributions for leading publications and websites such as GuitaristTotal Guitar, Guitar WorldGuitar Player and MusicRadar in addition to specialist music books, blogs and social media. He is also a lifelong musician.