See Neil Young Perform a Song from His New Album, 'Peace Trail'

Image placeholder title

PHOTO: Kevin Mazur | Getty Images

Neil Young will release a brand-new studio album titled Peace Trail on December 2 via Reprise Records.

Peace Trail features all new songs that Young wrote since the release of his live 2016 album Earth, and it was recorded within a short time span. The album is primarily acoustic and reflects an intimate, sparse approach that draws the listening into the heart of the songs in a personal way. Each song is rich with Young’s typically inviting lyrical expression of his inimitable impassioned and heartfelt life-long humanitarian concerns which remain as topical and timely as ever.

Peace Trail was recorded at Rick Rubin’s Shangri- la Studios and features Young on vocals and guitar, Jim Keltner on drums, and Paul Bushnell on bass. It was produced by Young and John Hanlon, mixed by John Hanlon. Most recently Young previewed five songs from the album during his performances during the Desert Trip Festival, in Indio, California. You can watch Young and Promise of the Real perform “Peace Trail” in the video below.

Peace Trail will be available CD, digital and cassette formats. A vinyl edition will follow in January.

The album is available for pre-order through and PONO Music. Those who pre-order will receive an instant download of the title track (and first single). Additional instant downloads will follow for those who pre-order Peace Trail. The album track list is at bottom.

Neil Young + Promise of the Real will tour Australia and New Zealand in April, Japan in May, and South America in the summer. For more info, visit

Peace Trail Track List

1. Peace Trail
2. Can’t Stop Workin’
3. Indian Givers
4. Show Me
5. Texas Rangers
6. Terrorist Suicide Hang Gliders
7. John Oaks
8. My Pledge
9. Glass Accident
10. My New Robot