Guitar Aficionado

New Ringo Starr Album, 'Ringo 2012,' to Feature Joe Walsh and Kenny Wayne Shepherd


Ringo Starr will release his 17th solo album,Ringo 2012, on January 31 in the US (January 30 everywhere else) on HIP-O/UMe Records.

Image placeholder title

The album title is a reference to Ringo, his most successful solo album, which was released in 1973 and featured all three other Beatles and a myriad of A-list stars.

This time, the sizable guest list includes guitarists Joe Walsh and Kenny Wayne Shepherd, plus Michael Bradford, Ann Marie Calhoun, Matt Cartsonis, Steve Dudas, Charlie Haden, Amy Keys, Kelly Moneymaker, Richard Page, Van Dyke Parks, Dave Stewart, Bruce Sugar, Benmont Tench, Don Was and Edgar Winter.

Walsh and Starr have been working together for many years; Walsh even produced Starr's 1983 album, Old Wave.

Ringo 2012 features another nod to its 1973 counterpart -- a new recording of "Step Lightly," which appears on the original album. Starr also revisits "Wings," a song that originally appeared on his 1977 album, Ringo the 4th.

Of the nine tracks, two are covers: "Think It Over" and "Rock Island Line," an old skiffle song the members of the Beatles know well from their Liverpool upbringing. "Think It Over" was released earlier this year as part of Listen To Me: Buddy Holly, one of two high-profile Buddy Holly tribute albums to be released in 2011.

The track listing is as follows (and remember, Richard Starkey = Ringo Starr):

01. Anthem (Richard Starkey/Glen Ballard)

02. Wings (Richard Starkey/Vince Poncia)

03. Think It Over (Buddy Holly/Norman Perry)

04. Samba (Richard Starkey/Van Dyke Parks)

05. Rock Island Line (Arr: Richard Starkey)

06. Step Lightly (Richard Starkey)

07. Wonderful (Richard Starkey/Gary Nicholson)

08. In Liverpool (Richard Starkey/Dave Stewart)

09. Slow Down (Richard Starkey/Joe Walsh)

The album was produced by Starr, as was his 2010 effort, Y Not. It was recorded in Los Angeles and mixed in England by Starr and Sugar. Ringo 2012 will be released digitally, on CD and vinyl.