The Winery Dogs Discuss 'Hot Streak' in New Exclusive Video


PHOTO CREDIT: Jamel Toppin

The Winery Dogs will release their new album, Hot Streak, this Friday, October 2. In the video below, guitarist/singer Richie Kotzen, bassist Billy Sheehan and drummer Mike Portnoy talk about the making of the album.

Hot Streak will be released on Loud & Proud Records via RED (a division of Sony Music Entertainment) and in the rest of the world via earMUSIC. Fans got a sampling of the new material with the release of the debut single, “Oblivion,” this past August 25. In addition, a double-vinyl edition of Hot Streak is in the works and is due out in early November.

The album is the followup to the group’s self-titled 2013 debut. That album presented the Winery Dog’s bracing mix of classic rock merged with modern hard rock and was acclaimed by critics and fans alike.

“I really loved the first record and thought it was exciting and was looking forward to touring,” Kotzen says in the video. “But I was really surprised at how fast people latched onto it, and suddenly we had all these offers to tour, and we stayed out for over a year.

“So I guess I’m just curious to see what happens this time, because personally, I like this record. As much as I like the first record, I like this one way more. So I’m just curious to see if the people that know about the band, if they latch onto it, or if somehow we’ve ruined everything by recording this record.”

Bassist Billy Sheehan notes that the Winery Dogs had “an inadvertent test marketing” of the record at the band’s Dog Camp. Held this past summer from July 27 to 31 at Full Moon Resort in Big Indian, New York, the Dog Camp gave players of all ages and levels a chance to hang out and perform with the band and attend clinics and workshops.

“We played a few [of the new] songs, and man, I was very pleased to see the response that they had,” Sheehan says. “They went nuts. It was great.”

The Winery Dogs head out for series of national tour dates beginning October 3, in Ridgefield, Connecticut, and concluding November 8 in San Diego, California. The full tour schedule can be found below the video, along with the track listing for Hot Streak.

Hot Streak Track Listing
1. Oblivion
2. Captain Love
3. Hot Streak
4. How Long
5. Empire
6. Fire
7. Ghost Town
8. The Bridge
9. War Machine
10. Spiral
11. Devil You Know
12. Think It Over
13. The Lamb

Winery Dogs Hot Streak Tour Dates


03 Ridgefield, CT, Ridgefield Playhouse
04 Jim Thorpe, PA, Penn’s Peak
05 Boston, MA, Wilbur Theater
08 Glenside, PA, Keswick Theater
09 Sayreville, NJ, Starland Ballroom
10 New York, NY, Best Buy Theater
12 Atlanta, GA, Variety Playhouse
14 Jacksonville, FL, Ponte Verde Concert Hall
15 Tampa, FL, State Theater
16 Ft. Lauderdale, FL, Culture Room
17 Orlando, FL, The Plaza Live
20 Nashville, TN, Wildhorse Saloon
22 Houston, TX, Pub Fountains
23 Ardmore, OK, Heritage Hall
24 Dallas, TX, The Gas Monkey
27 Milwaukee, WI, Potowatami Casino
28 Milwaukee, WI, Potowatami Casino
29 St. Charles, IL, Arcada Theater
31 Denver, CO, Marquis Theater


02 San Jose, CA, Rock Bar

03 Anaheim, CA, House of Blues
05 Agoura Hills, CA, Canyon Club
06 Beverly Hills, CA, Saban Theater
07 Las Vegas, NV, Vamp’d
08 San Diego, CA, House of Blues

The Winery Dogs will also perform an acoustic set at Looney Tunes in West Babylon, New York on Wednesday, October 7. To get into this event, purchase Hot Streak from Looney Tunes and you’ll receive a wristband to attend this event. After the performance, the band will meet fans and sign the new CD and one personal item.