Joe Bonamassa Releases Video for “Drive” from Upcoming Album

Publish date:
Image placeholder title

Joe Bonamassa has just released the for “Drive,” from his upcoming studio solo album, Blues of Desperation. The album comes out March 25 on Provogue Records and features 11 original tunes.

This time out, Bonamassa said he wanted to throw away the rule book and take a stab at reinvention in an effort to grow and redefine the blues-rock genre.

“I want people to hear my evolution as a blues-rock musician,” Bonamassa says, “somebody who isn’t resting on accomplishments and who is always pushing forward and thinking about how music can evolve and stay relevant.”

The Blues of Desperation sessions took place in Nashville, where Bonamassa cut his previous album, 2014’s Different Shades of Blue. Working with his long-time producer Kevin Shirley, Bonamassa and crew convened at Nashville’s Grand Victor Sound Studios (formerly known as RCA Studio A) and recorded the album over an intense, five-day period, working with artists that include drummers Anton Fig and Greg Morrow, bassist Michael Rhodes, keyboardist Reese Wynans, horn players Lee Thornburg, Paulie Cerra and Mark Douthit, and background singers Mahalia Barnes, Jade McRae and Juanita Tippins.

“These are some of the best guys in the business,” Bonamassa says. "Lyrically, you’ll hear the proverbial trains, mountains, valleys and other blues references about heartbreak and loneliness, but there are also some poignant moments about getting away from the stressful, crazy demands of life and losing yourself with your special someone. I think anybody will be able to relate.”

The track list for Blues of Desperation is below the video.

Blues of Desperation Track Listing
“This Train”
“Mountain Climbing”
“No Good Place For The Lonely”
“Blues Of Desperation”
“The Valley Runs Low”
“You Left Me Nothin' But The Bill And The Blues”
“Distant Lonesome Train”
“How Deep This River Runs”
“Livin' Easy”
“What I've Known For A Very Long Time”