Hear Van Halen Perform at the New York Palladium in 1978 | AUDIO


Van Halen were still unknown to the public at large when they played the New York City Palladium on March 25, 1978. The group was opening for Montrose (post Sammy Hagar) and Journey, who were then enjoying early fame with their album Infinity, which included the forthcoming hits “Lights” and “Wheel in the Sky.”

A decent recording of that show has circulated for years in the underground, and now an enterprising fan has uploaded Van Halen’s set to YouTube. You can see the videos below (they contain audio content only, sadly). The quality is good, though the audience seems indifferent to Van Halen and is probably anxious for the headliners.

The set list includes:

1. On Fire 3:36
2. I'm The One 4:21

3. Bass Solo 1:01

4. Runnin' With The Devil 3:51

5. Atomic Punk 2:41
6. Drum Solo 1:18
7. Little Dreamer 3:27
8. Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love 4:09
9. Guitar Solo 2:57
10. You Really Got Me 2:49
11. Bottoms Up! 4:55