Genesis to Release Career-Spanning Anthology


Photo: Genesis in the early Seventies. (from left) Hackett, Banks, Gabriel, Collins and Rutherford.

Genesis will release the three-disc anthology collection R-KIVE on September 30 on Rhino. Spanning 42 years, the 37-track set documents the band's history with classic Genesis material as well as selections from the solo careers of Steve Hackett, Mike Rutherford/Mike + The Mechanics, Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Peter Gabriel.

Chronologically ordered, R-KIVE features Genesis's biggest hits, including "Invisible Touch," "Turn It On Again," "Land of Confusion,"' and "I Can't Dance." Along the way it also visits Mike + The Mechanics' classics "The Living Years" and "Over My Shoulder," Collins's "In the Air Tonight" and Peter Gabriel's "Solsbury Hill."

"This album jogs memories about old albums, things people might have missed the first time around," Collins says. "Most of the time, the singles always seem to be the things that are remembered from albums. Sometimes the lesser-known tracks deserve better than to be forgotten."

"I'm a songwriter first of all," Rutherford adds. "When you put these songs together, it's a wonderfully impressive array and variety of songs. It's an interesting combination that doesn't normally get put on the same page."

Genesis formed in 1967 with vocalist Peter Gabriel, guitarist Anthony Phillips, keyboardist Tony Banks, bassist Mike Rutherford and drummer Chris Stewart. By 1971, the lineup had solidified with Gabriel, Banks, Rutherford, guitarist Steve Hackett and drummer Phil Collins. This classic lineup would go on to record some of the group's earliest critical successes, including Nursery Cryme in 1971 and Selling England by the Pound in 1973, the latter of which saw Hackett using tapping and sweep picking years before they became popularized by Eddie Van Halen and Yngwie Malmsteen, respectively.

The lineup's efforts culminated in 1974 with The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, a sweeping double-length concept album that remains one of the best examples of the genre. Gabriel left the following year and went on to have a long and successful solo career. Collins took over vocal duties for the group, and over the next years Genesis released A Trick of the Tail and Wind and Wuthering, a pair of excellent albums that proved the group could endure as a quartet.

With Hackett's departure in 1977, Genesis carried on as a trio, with Rutherford taking over guitar duties. The early Eighties brought the group some of its greatest commercial successes, with tracks like "Follow You Follow Me," "Misunderstanding," and "No Reply at All," the latter from the 1981 album Abacab, which was a huge hit in the U.S. and U.K. Around the same time, Collins began what was an even more successful solo career, with hits that included "In the Air Tonight" and "Another Day in Paradise." Rutherford also enjoyed a successful career outside of Genesis with Mike + The Mechanics, which formed in 1985. Genesis's trio lineup lasted until 1997, when Collins departed and Ray Wilson took over vocals. Collins, Rutherford and Banks regrouped in 2006.

With so much material to draw from, the archivists at Rhino clearly had their work cut out for them when assembling R-KIVE. Fittingly, they started with "The Knife," a nine-minute proto-punk number written before either Hackett or Collins had joined the band. The set cherry picks the best of the group's material from the following years and decades. In addition to 22 Genesis songs, each member's work outside of the band is represented democratically with three songs each.

What results is a collection that is both eclectic and wide-ranging, as evidenced by Hackett's flamenco-inspired "Nomads," Gabriel's "Signal to Noise" which featured Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, and "Calling All Stations," the sole representative from the short-lived era in which Genesis were fronted by former Stiltskin vocalist Ray Wilson.

The release of R-KIVE will be followed by the accompanying reunion documentary Genesis: Sum of the Parts, which will be broadcast on Showtime on October 10.

R-KIVE Track List

Disc 1

1. "The Knife" - from Trespass (1970)

2. "The Musical Box" - from Nursery Cryme (1971)

3. "Supper's Ready" - from Foxtrot (1972)

4. "The Cinema Show" - from Selling England By The Pound (1973)

5. "I Know What I Like" - from Selling England By The Pound (1973)

6. "The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway" - from The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway (1974)

7. "Back In N.Y.C." - from The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway (1974)

8. "The Carpet Crawlers" - from The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway (1974)

9. "Ace of Wands" - from Steve Hackett's Voyage of the Acolyte (1975)

Disc 2

1. "Ripples" - from A Trick of the Tail (1976)

2. "Afterglow" - from Wind & Wuthering (1976)

3. "Solsbury Hill" - from Peter Gabriel's first self-titled album (1977)

4. "Follow You Follow Me" - from And Then There Were Three (1978)

5. "For A While" - from Tony Banks's A Curious Feeling (1979)

6. "Every Day" - from Steve Hackett's Spectral Mornings (1979)

7. "Biko" - from Peter Gabriel's third self-titled album (1980)

8. "Turn It On Again" - from Duke (1980)

9. "In The Air Tonight" - from Phil Collins's Face Value (1981)

10. "Abacab" - from Abacab (1981)

11. "Mama" - from Genesis (1983)

12. "That's All" - from Genesis (1983)

13. "Easy Lover" - (Originally released in 1984)

14. "Silent Running" - from Mike + The Mechanics's self-titled album (1985)

Disc 3

1. "Invisible Touch" - from Invisible Touch (1986)

2. "Land of Confusion" - from Invisible Touch (1986)

3. "Tonight Tonight Tonight" - from Invisible Touch (1986)

4. "The Living Years" - from Mike + The Mechanics's Living Years (1989)

5. "Red Day on Blue Street" - from Tony Bank's Still (1991)

6. "I Can't Dance" - from We Can't Dance (1991)

7. "No Son of Mine" - from We Can't Dance (1991)

8. "Hold On My Heart" - from We Can't Dance (1991)

9. "Over My Shoulder" - from Mike + The Mechanics's Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (1995)

10. "Calling All Stations" - from Calling All Stations (1997)

11. "Signal To Noise" - from Peter Gabriel's Up (2002)

12. "Wake Up Call" - from Phil Collins's Testify (2002)

13. "Nomads" - from Steve Hackett's Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth (2009)

14. "Siren" - from Tony Banks's Six: Pieces of Orchestra (2012)