Skip to main content

Liquid Tension Experiment, John Petrucci's Prog Supergroup, Premiere New Song, "Beating The Odds"

Liquid Tension Experiment
(Image credit: InsideOutMusic)

Last December, Liquid Tension Experiment – the prog-rock supergroup comprised of Dream Theater's John Petrucci and Jordan Rudess, former Dream Theater drummer Mike Portnoy, and King Crimson/session legend Tony Levin on bass – announced that they were reuniting.

Soon after came the news of Liquid Tension Experiment 3, their first new studio album in 22 years, and the release of its first single, "The Passage of Time."

Now, the quartet has premiered "Beating The Odds," the decidedly twisty but still hard-rockin' second single from the album.

You can check out its music video – directed by Christian Rios – below.

“This was a riff that I brought into the sessions that I thought was interesting because it's in an odd time and phrased in a way that is hard to wrap your head around at first until you understand where the groove is," Petrucci said of the song.

"When I first presented it to the guys, their initial reaction was 'how are you feeling that?' When the band enters after the opening riff it probably sounds a little 'odd' because the time signature is a bit unclear until the song gets going. 

"If LTE ever had a 'prog pop hit' this would be it." 

Liquid Tension Experiment 3 is set for March 26 release via InsideOutMusic. To preorder the album, step right this way. You can check out its cover art and track list below.

The cover of 'Liquid Tension Experiment 3'

(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Liquid Tension Experiment 3:

1. Hypersonic
2. Beating The Odds
3. Liquid Evolution
4. The Passage Of Time
5. Chris & Kevin’s Amazing Odyssey
6. Rhapsody In Blue
7. Shades Of Hope
8. Key To The Imagination