Megadeth Release New Track, “Fatal Illusion,” and Give Update on New LP, 'Dystopia' | AUDIO


Megadeth fans can hear how the thrash act’s latest lineup sounds on “Fatal Illusion,” the new song from their forthcoming album. Titled Dystopia, the disc is scheduled for a January 22, 2016 release date.

Featuring the core of frontman Dave Mustaine and bassist Dave Elleson, Megadeth now includes Kiko Loureiro, taking over for former guitarist Chris Broderick, and Lamb of God drummer Chris Adler, who replaces Shawn Drover.

Dystopia is the follow-up to 2013’s Super Collider, and the first Megadeth album to include Loureiro and Adler. The band recorded Dystopia in Nashville with Toby Wright (Lamb of God/Gojira) and Mustaine serving as producers.

The album art (left) shows Megadeth mascot Vic Rattlehead in a cityscape holding a samurai sword and the head of a robotic enemy. The track listing is below the audio stream.

“There’s a lot of riffing going on in there, that’s for damn sure,” Dave Mustaine recently told Revolver magazine. “There’s a lot of solos, a lot of pounding drums and bass. I knew from the start that I wanted to go back to my roots, and I wanted to make a thrash record.”

Dystopia Track Listing
01. The Threat Is Real
02. Dystopia
03. Fatal Illusion
04. Death From Within
05. Bullet To The Brain
06. Post American World
07. Poisonous Shadows
08. Look Who’s Talking
09. Conquer Or Die
10. Lying In State
11. The Emperor
12. Last Dying Wish
13. Foreign Policy (FEAR cover)