Listen To Rory Gallagher and Jerry Lee Lewis's Previously Unreleased Cover of the Rolling Stones' Satisfaction

(L-R) Rory Gallagher and Jerry Lee Lewis
(Image credit: Mick Rock c/o Strange Music)

Back in 1973, Jerry Lee Lewis released The Session... Recorded In London With Great Artists. It was a famously star-studded recording, with guest appearances from the likes of Albert Lee, Alvin Lee, Peter Frampton, Kenney Jones and Spooky Tooth's Mick Jones.

And now, an outtake from its sessions has emerged - a cover of the Rolling Stones "(I Can't Get No)" Satisfaction recorded alongside Rory Gallagher, who takes on vocal and lead guitar duties.

The cover is set to be released on a 7" single, which will accompany Gallagher's upcoming compilation album, The Best Of Rory Gallagher, due to drop October 9.

“A bit bamboozled at the lyrics and a bit embarrassed at not really knowing of the song, Jerry’s paranoia kicked in and thought he was being ‘wound-up,’” Donal Gallager, Rory's brother and manager, informed Rolling Stone

"Annoyance flashed on the Killer’s face, as his wild eyes scanned the studio, fixing on Rory. ‘I trust you boy. Without looking at anyone else but me, tell me truthfully, is there a song called Satisfaction? If so, you start teaching me.’”

The Best Of Rory Gallagher will feature highlights of the Irish blues legend's career, including cuts from his early days with Taste and his final 1990 solo recording, Fresh Evidence.

The Best Of Rory Gallagher - tracklist

1. Taste - What's Going On (from 1970’s On The Boards LP)
2. Rory Gallagher - Shadow Play (from 1978’s Photo Finish LP)
3. Rory Gallagher - Follow Me (from 1979’s Top Priority LP)
4. Rory Gallagher - Tattoo'd Lady (from 1973’s Tattoo LP)
5. Rory Gallagher - All Around Man (from 1975’s Against The Grain LP)
6. Rory Gallagher - I Fall Apart (from 1971’s Rory Gallagher LP)
7. Rory Gallagher - Daughter Of The Everglades (from 1973’s Blueprint LP)
8. Rory Gallagher - Calling Card (from 1976’s Calling Card LP)
9. Rory Gallagher - I'm Not Awake Yet (from 1971’s Deuce LP)
10. Rory Gallagher - Just The Smile (from 1971’s Rory Gallagher LP)
11. Rory Gallagher - Out Of My Mind (from 1971’s Deuce LP)
12. Rory Gallagher - Edged In Blue (from 1976’s Calling Card LP)
13. Rory Gallagher - Philby (from 1979’s Top Priority LP)
14. Taste - It's Happened Before, It'll Happen Again (from 1970’s On The Boards LP)
15. Rory Gallagher - Crest Of A Wave (from 1971’s Deuce LP)

1. Rory Gallagher - Bad Penny (from 1979’s Top Priority LP)
2. Rory Gallagher - Walk On Hot Coals (from 1973’s Blueprint LP)
3. Taste - Blister On The Moon (from 1969’s Taste LP)
4. Rory Gallagher - Loanshark Blues (from 1987’s Defender LP)
5. Rory Gallagher - Bought & Sold (from 1975’s Against The Grain LP)
6. Rory Gallagher - A Million Miles Away (from 1973’s from the Tattoo LP)
7. Rory Gallagher - Wheels Within Wheels (from 2010’s Notes From San Francisco LP)
8. Rory Gallagher - Seven Days (from 1987’s Defender LP)
9. Rory Gallagher - Ghost Blues (from 1990’s Fresh Evidence LP)
10. Rory Gallagher - Cruise On Out (from 1978’s Photo Finish LP)
11. Jerry Lee Lewis ft. Rory Gallagher - (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction (1973 outtake from the Jerry Lee Lewis The Session… Recorded in London With Great Guest Artists LP)
12. Rory Gallagher - They Don't Make Them Like You Anymore (from 1973’s Tattoo LP)
13. Rory Gallagher - Moonchild (from 1976’s Calling Card LP)
14. Rory Gallagher - Jinxed (from 1982’s Jinx LP)
15. Taste - Catfish (from 1969’s Taste LP) 

2LP Black Vinyl / 2LP D2C Clear Vinyl Exclusive (Includes the 7” black vinyl single ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction’ ft. Jerry Lee Lewis and Rory Gallagher)

Side A
Rory Gallagher - Bad Penny
Rory Gallagher - Shadow Play
Rory Gallagher - I Fall Apart
Rory Gallagher - Calling Card 

Side B
Taste - What's Going On
Rory Gallagher - All Around Man
Rory Gallagher - A Million Miles Away
Rory Gallagher - Just The Smile 

Side C
Rory Gallagher - Seven Days
Rory Gallagher - Jinxed
Rory Gallagher - Edged In Blue
Rory Gallagher - Philby 

Side D
Rory Gallagher - Walk On Hot Coals
Rory Gallagher - Tattoo'd Lady
Rory Gallagher - Crest Of A Wave 

15 Track single CD
1. Bad Penny
2. Shadow Play
3. I Fall Apart
4. Calling Card
5. What's Going On
6. All Around Man
7. A Million Miles Away
8. Just The Smile
9. Seven Days
10. Jinxed
11. Edged In Blue
12. Philby
13. Walk On Hot Coals
14. Tattoo'd Lady
15. Crest Of A Wave 

Sam Roche

Sam was Staff Writer at from 2019 to 2023, and also created content for Total Guitar, Guitarist and Guitar Player. He has well over 15 years of guitar playing under his belt, as well as a degree in Music Technology (Mixing and Mastering). He's a metalhead through and through, but has a thorough appreciation for all genres of music. In his spare time, Sam creates point-of-view guitar lesson videos on YouTube under the name Sightline Guitar.