Guitar Aficionado

The Cars Announce Classic-Era Box Set and a Best-Of Collection

The six-disc box set and greatest-hits collection retrace the Cars’ multi-Platinum first decade.

In 1978, the Cars had a Top 40 hit with their very first single, “Just What I Needed.” That streak continued over the next 10 years, as the Cars revisited the Top 40 a dozen more times with radio hits “Let’s Go” and “Shake It Up” along with iconic videos for “Magic” and “You Might Think,” which won MTV's first-ever “Video of the Year” award, in 1984.

The five original members—Elliot Easton, Ric Ocasek, the late Benjamin Orr, Greg Hawkes and David Robinson—recorded six studio albums together, all with Elektra Records, which together sold more than 23 million albums in the U.S. alone.

Now those albums are being reissued in a new six-disc box set that retraces the Cars’ musical journey through their multi-Platinum first decade.

Titled The Elektra Years 1978–1978, the box includes The Cars (1978), Candy-O (1979), Panorama (1980), Shake It Up (1981), Heartbeat City, (1984) and Door to Door (1987). Among the 60 tracks are the band's biggest hits: “My Best Friend’s Girl,” “Good Times Roll,” “You Are the Girl” and “Drive.”

Image placeholder title

Each album will be presented in a replica sleeve with original artwork. Founding Cars guitarist Ric Ocasek oversaw digital remastering for the set, while drummer David Robinson—who helped create the Cars’ iconic album covers through the years—served as art director.

The six-disc collection will be available March 11 on CD ($39.98) and digitally. On Tuesday June 7, a limited-edition vinyl version of the boxed set will be available with each 180-gram LP pressed on a different color vinyl.

In addition, the Cars’ greatest hits will be celebrated in the two-disc set Moving in Stereo: The Best of the Cars. The set will be available on May 6 on CD ($18.98) and as a two-album set on 180-gram vinyl ($34.98). The collection is produced by the band, with all surviving members contributing to song selection. Ocasek also supervised digital remastering of all the audio with Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound.

The collection features the band’s hits along with a rare, single mix for “I’m Not the One,” a live version of “Everything You Say” and a new mix by producer Philippe Zdar of “Sad Song,” a track from the band’s last album, 2011’s Move Like This.


Track Listing
1. "Just What I Needed"
2. "Since You're Gone"
3. "Let's Go"
4. "You Might Think"
5. "Shake It Up"
6. "Drive"
7. "Tonight She Comes"
8. "My Best Friend's Girl"
9. "Don't Tell Me No"
10. "You're All I've Got Tonight"
11. "I'm Not The One" - Single Mix
12. "Candy-O"
13. "Heartbeat City"
14. "Touch And Go"
15. "Moving In Stereo"
16. "Dangerous Type"
17. "Sad Song" - Zdar Mix (Previously Unreleased)
18. "Everything You Say" - Live (Previously Unreleased)

THE CARS (1978)
1. "Good Times Roll"
2. "My Best Friend's Girl"
3. "Just What I Needed"
4. "I'm In Touch With Your World"
5. "Don't Cha Stop"
6. "You're All I've Got Tonight"
7. "Bye Bye Love"
8. "Moving In Stereo"
9. "All Mixed Up"

CANDY-O (1979)
1. "Let's Go"
2. "Since I Held You"
3. "It's All I Can Do"
4. "Double Life"
5. "Shoo Be Doo"
6. "Candy-O"
7. "Night Spots"
8. "You Can't Hold On Too Long"
9. "Lust For Kicks"
10. "Got A Lot On My Head"
11. "Dangerous Type"

1. "Panorama"
2. "Touch And Go"
3. "Gimme Some Slack"
4. "Don't Tell Me No"
5. "Getting Through"
6. "Misfit Kid"
7. "Down Boys"
8. "You Wear Those Eyes"
9. "Running To You"
10. "Up And Down"

SHAKE IT UP (1981)
1. "Since You're Gone"
2. "Shake It Up"
3. "I'm Not The One"
4. "Victim Of Love"
5. "Cruiser"
6. "A Dream Away"
7. "This Could Be Love"
8. "Think It Over"
9. "Maybe Baby"

1. "Hello Again"
2. "Looking For Love"
3. "Magic"
4. "Drive"
5. "Stranger Eyes"
6. "You Might Think"
7. "It's Not The Night"
8. "Why Can't I Have You"
9. "I Refuse"
10. "Heartbeat City"

1. "Leave Or Stay"
2. "You Are The Girl"
3. "Double Trouble"
4. "Fine Line"
5. "Everything You Say"
6. "Ta Ta Wayo Wayo"
7. "Strap Me In"
8. "Coming Up You"
9. "Wound Up On You"
10. "Go Away"
11. "Door To Door"