Michael Schenker Announces New Album, Releases Video

January 12, 2015
Michael Schenker has announced he will release a new studio album on March 23. Titled Spirit on a Mission, it will be issued in the UK and feature all-new material.
The album includes 12 tracks recorded with Schenker's Temple of Rock band, which includes ex-Scorpions drummer Herman Rarebell and bassist Francis Buchholz, former Rainbow singer Doogie White and guitarist/keyboardist Wayne Findlay.
Work on the new album began in March 2014 after the band finished touring for its 2013 album, Bridge the Gap. Schenker co-wrote the songs with White, and the album was recorded at Kidroom Studios in Munster, Germany, where the group recorded Bridge the Gap.
Schenker says the new album's title came to him in response to a question. "A while ago I was asked how I wanted to be remembered, and I said 'as a spirit on a mission, spreading the joy of music from a place of pure self-expression.' "
Unfortunately, his mission got temporarily sidetracked. During recording of the new album, the original recordings and some guitars were stolen from the recording studio. "It forced us to work extra hard and longer, but it made [the album] stronger," Schenker says.
Schenker says several of the new tracks feature seven-string guitar, which was apparently played by Wayne Findlay. "I always liked that low sound and asked Wayne to looking into develop it on the seven-string" he says.
Below is a video for the Spirit on a Mission track "Vigilante Man."
Spirit on a Mission track listing:
01. Live and Let Live
02. Communion
03. Vigilante Man
04. Rock City
05. Saviour Machine
06. Something of the Night
07. All Our Yesterdays
08. Bulletproof
09. Let the Devil Scream
10. Good Times
11. Restless Heart
12. Wicked
13. Searching For Freedom (instrumental) (bonus track on deluxe edition + vinyl edition)
Keep up-to-date on the latest news
Get our Free Newsletter Here!


comments powered by Disqus

Reader Poll

What’s the one pedal you can’t live without?

See results without voting »