Paul Gilbert Premieres New Song, "A Thunderous Ovation Shook the Columns"

Paul Gilbert
(Image credit: Jason Quigley)

Paul Gilbert has premiered a new song, "A Thunderous Ovation Shook the Columns."

The second single from the guitar legend's upcoming 16th solo studio album, Werewolves Of Portland, the song was inspired by composer Dimitri Shostakovich.

Of the song's title, Gilbert said that it's "a line that I saw when I was reading about the audience’s reaction to the debut performance of Shostakovich’s 5th Symphony. They liked his symphony! So, fortunately, did Joseph Stalin, who had made no secret that he did not approve of some of Shostakovich’s earlier music, and that he'd better write something more pro-state, or be sent off to a 'work' camp in Siberia."

You can check the tune out below.

Recorded at Opal Studio in Portland with co-producer and engineer Kevin Hahn, Werewolves of Portland is set for a June 4 release via The Players Club. Notably, it features Gilbert – who didn't want to wait until the end of the COVID-19 pandemic to record the album – on every single instrument.

You can examine Werewolves of Portland's cover art and track list below.

To preorder the album, step right this way.

The cover of Paul Gilbert's new album, 'Werewolves of Portland'

(Image credit: The Players Club)

Paul Gilbert – Werewolves of Portland:

1. Hello North Dakota
2. My Goodness
3. Werewolves Of Portland
4. Professorship At The Leningrad Conservatory
5. Argument About Pie
6. Meaningful
7. I Wanna Cry
8. A Thunderous Ovation Shook The Columns
9. Problem-Solving People
10. (You Would Not Be Able To Handle) What I Handle Everyday

Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, and

Jackson is an Associate Editor at and He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.