Paul Gilbert Announces New Album, 'Werewolves Of Portland'

Paul Gilbert
(Image credit: Jason Quigley)

Paul Gilbert has announced his 16th solo studio album, Werewolves Of Portland.

Recorded at Opal Studio in Portland with co-producer and engineer Kevin Hahn, the album is set for a June 4 release via The Players Club. Notably, it features Gilbert – who didn't want to wait until the end of the COVID-19 pandemic to record the album – on every single instrument.

You can check out the amusing animated video for the album's lead single, "Argument About Pie," below.

As for the gear he used for the album, Gilbert said "I mostly used my Ibanez Fireman guitars. I've been collecting vintage Ibanez guitars lately, too.

"I brought some models from the '70s, '80s, and '90s like the Ibanez Artist, Roadstar II, and Ghostrider. I also brought and modified a '60s Epiphone Olympic. I used to play those in the early days of Racer X, so it was fun to have a guitar that reminded me of my early shredder style."

You can examine Werewolves of Portland's cover art and track list below.

To preorder the album, step right this way.

The cover of Paul Gilbert's new album, 'Werewolves of Portland'

(Image credit: The Players Club)

Paul Gilbert – Werewolves of Portland:

1. Hello North Dakota
2. My Goodness
3. Werewolves Of Portland
4. Professorship At The Leningrad Conservatory
5. Argument About Pie
6. Meaningful
7. I Wanna Cry
8. A Thunderous Ovation Shook The Colums
9. Problem-Solving People
10. (You Would Not Be Able To Handle) What I Handle Everyday

Jackson Maxwell
Associate Editor, and

Jackson is an Associate Editor at and He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.