Guitar Aficionado

Two New Jeff Lynne/ELO Albums Expected in October

Jeff Lynne of Electric Light Orchestra will release two albums on October 9 via the Italy-based Frontiers Records.
Publish date:
Updated on
Image placeholder title

By Damian Fanelli

Jeff Lynne of Electric Light Orchestra will release two albums on October 9 via the Italy-based Frontiers Records:

1. Long Wave, Lynne's new solo album, is a tribute to the songs that originally inspired him.

“I call this new album Long Wave because all of the songs I sing on it are the ones heard on long wave radio when I was a kid growing up in Birmingham, England,” Lynne said. “These songs take me back to that feeling of freedom in those days and summon up the feeling of first hearing those powerful waves of music coming in on my old crystal set. My dad also had the radio on all the time, so some of these songs have been stuck in my head for 50 years. You can only imagine how great it felt to finally get them out of my head after all these years.”

2. Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra features all new recordings (by Lynne) of his original ELO classics. The album was recorded at his home studio in Los Angeles.

“There was a big reason I wanted to re-record these ELO songs,” Lynne said. “When I listen to the old versions, they don’t sound the way I thought they did when I first wrote and recorded them. I wanted to use the experience I’ve gained producing records ever since and have a completely new try at them. I’m not saying the old versions aren’t good; I like them very much. We were doing our best, but experience and technology also play a big part, and these new ones sound much more solid and tight.” The album includes a never-before-heard bonus track, “The Point Of No Return,” and a version of “10538 Overture” that’s a nod to ELO’s 40th anniversary.

Other upcoming releases include ELO Live! in 2013 and expanded reissues of ELO’s 2001 album, Zoom (featuring George Harrison and Ringo Starr) and Lynne's first solo album from 1990, Armchair Theater (also featuring George Harrison).

For up-to-date info on Lynne-related news, visit


1. She
2. If I Loved You
3. So Sad
4. Mercy, Mercy
5. Running Scared
6. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
7. Smile
8. At Last
9. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
10. Let It Rock
11. Beyond The Sea


1. Mr. Blue Sky
2. Evil Woman
3. Strange Magic
4. Don’t Bring Me Down
5. Turn To Stone
6. Showdown
7. Telephone Line
8. Livin’ Thing
9. Do Ya
10. Can’t Get It Out Of My Head
11. 10538 Overture
12. The Point Of No Return

Photo: Martyn Atkins