Video Premiere! Tom Keifer's "The Way Life Goes"

Image placeholder title

Photo by Tammy Vega

Revving up for the October 20, 2017 Deluxe Edition re-release of his 2013 debut album The Way Life Goes [Cleopatra], Tom Keifer is premiering his new video for the title song today, exclusively for Guitar Player readers. 

The Deluxe Edition features two new studio tracks recorded in Nashville with Grammy winning producer/engineer Vance Powell — a reworking of the Cinderella classic "Nobody's Fool" ( as a duet with Halestorm's Lzzy Hale) and a cover of the Beatles' "With a Little Help From My Friends" — as well as special artwork and a remastering of the original album by Richard Dodd.

"Everything from the new artwork, documentary, videos, and bonus tracks contained in the Deluxe Edition is a sum of all the amazingly talented people who came into our world as a result of the initial release," explains Keifer. "The two bonus tracks were specifically chosen and recorded as we felt them both to be special collaborations that came about while touring for the original The Way Life Goes release." 

GP's Matt Blackett interviewed Keifer back in 2013, and I remember him enthusing about The Way Life Goes so much that we were all somewhat "forced" to take a listen to the album. In his May 2013 GP article, Matt said: "Keifer flat-out knows how to play vibey guitar parts with ungodly tone, and fans of the Stones, Zeppelin, Steve Marriott, and early Aerosmith should definitely take notice. And, although you wouldn’t wish hemorrhaging vocal cords on anyone, this guy is singing better than ever to complement his great 6-string parts."

You can pre-order the Deluxe Edition HERE

Here's a look at the track listing... 


1. Solid Ground

2. A Different Light

3. It’s Not Enough

4. Cold Day In Hell

5. Thick and Thin

6. Ask Me Yesterday

7. Fool’s Paradise

8. The Flower Song

9. Mood Elevator

10. Welcome To My Mind

11. You Showed Me

12. Ain’t That A Bitch

13. The Way Life Goes

14. Babylon


15. Nobody’s Fool feat. Lzzy Hale

16. With A Little Help From My Friends

17. Nobody’s Fool (Piano Version)


Chapter 1: The Way Life’s Goin' (Documentary)

Chapter 2: Solid Ground (Music video)

Chapter 3: The Flower Song (Music video)

Chapter 4: It's Not Enough (Music video)

Chapter 5: It's Not Enough (Lyric video)

Chapter 6: Album Promo

Chapter 7: Cathouse Live

Chapter 8: Count Vamp'd Las Vegas

Chapter 9: Farm Rock Chicago