Van Morrison Announces Career-Spanning Set of Reissues to Begin Friday


Van Morrison’s extensive catalog has found a home at Legacy Recordings, and now the label will begin reissuing his albums in physical and digital form starting August 28.

Morrison has recorded for several labels over the course of his lengthy career. As a result, large portions of his catalog have been out of print at various times.

His deal with Legacy encompasses some 50 album, video and compilation titles from 1964 to the present. It includes all of Morrison’s solo works from 1971 to the present as well as recordings made with his rock band Them from 1964 to 1966.

Thirty-three Morrison album titles will be made available as digital releases and through streaming services beginning August 28. The reissues begin with 1972’s St. Dominic’s Preview and run up through 2009’s Astral Weeks “Live at the Hollywood Bowl.”

On the same day, Legacy will release The Essential Van Morrison. This 37-track, two-CD career-spanning anthology will be available digitally and as a two-CD album.

Later this year, Morrison’s early recordings as the singer, frontman and principal songwriter for the seminal band Them will be available on Legacy Recordings.

In the upcoming months, Legacy will launch its ongoing Van Morrison library release project with new compilations, deluxe Legacy Editions of classic album titles and a digital roll-out of the full Morrison catalog.

This has been an active year for the 69-year-old singer (Morrison turns 70 on August 31). In March he released Duets: Re-Working the Catalogue, on which he revisits many of his favorite songs with other musicians, and in June he was knighted in England in recognition of his contributions to popular music.

For more information, visit Legacy Recordings.

Van Morrison Titles Available Digitally and Streaming on August 28, 2015
St. Dominic’s Preview (1972)
Hard Nose the Highway (1973)
It’s Too Late to Stop Now (Live) (1974)
Veedon Fleece (1974)
A Period of Transition (1977)
Wavelength (1978)
Into the Music (1979)
Common One (1980)
Beautiful Vision (1982)
Inarticulate Speech of the Heart (1983)
Live at the Grand Opera House, Belfast (Live) (1984)
A Sense of Wonder (1984)
No Guru, No Method, No Teacher (1984)
Poetic Champions Compose (1987)
Irish Heartbeat (w/the Chieftains) (1988)
Avalon Sunset (1989)
Enlightenment (1990)
Hymns to the Silence (1991)
Too Long in Exile (1993)
A Night in San Francisco (Live) (1994)
Days Like This (1995)
How Long Has This Been Going On? (1995)
Tell Me Something: The Songs of Mose Allison (1996)
The Healing Game (1997)
The Philosopher’s Stone (2CD outtakes compilation, 1998)
Back on Top (1999)
The Skiffle Sessions: Live in Belfast (Live) (2000)
Down the Road (2002)
What’s Wrong with This Picture? (2003)
Magic Time (2005)
Pay the Devil (2006)
Keep It Simple (2008)
Astral Weeks “Live at the Hollywood Bowl” (Live) (2009)