Opeth Release Official Lyric Video for New Single, “Sorceress,” Now Streaming

Image placeholder title

PHOTO: Chiaki Nozu | Getty Images

The title track from Opeth’s forthcoming album premiered on BBC Radio over the weekend and is currently streaming.

Titled “Sorceress,” the song is the second track on the new album, the group’s 12th full-length effort, due out September 30.

Frontman Mikael Akerfeldt says the new album is “different” from the group’s previous efforts.

“I find that once again we’ve taken a step forward. Or sideways, Or backwards. Somewhere!?” Akerfeldt tells Loudwire. “It’s different! It’s extremely diverse,” he says. “And if I may say so myself, extremely good. I feel the right to say that since I like to think I know this band better than anyone on the planet. Also, I always manage to detach myself from the record and listen as a fan.

“It’s a fine little record. My favorite in our discography right now. Of course. That's how it should be, right? It’s both fresh and old, both progressive and rehashed. Heavy and calm. Just the way we like it.”

You can stream the new track below or courtesy of the BBC. Note: The track begins at the 1:27:37 mark.

The full track listing for Sorceress is below.

Sorceress Track Listing
1. “Persephone”
2. “Sorceress”
3. “The Wilde Flowers”
4. “Will o the Wisp”
5. “Chrysalis”
6. “Sorceress 2″
7. “The Seventh Sojourn”
8. “Strange Brew”
9. “A Fleeting Glance”
10. “Era”
11. “Persephone (Slight Return)”