Andy Summers Releases New Album, 'Metal Dog,' and Police DVD | VIDEO

Publish date:
Updated on

Former Police guitarist Andy Summers releases his latest solo music project, Metal Dog, today as well as his film, Can’t Stand Losing You: Surviving the Police, available on DVD.

Metal Dog is Summers’ new instrumental collection, a unique soundscape of cinematic jazz fusion, and is available via digital retailers, including Amazon and the CSLY web page.

The 10-track release includes instrumentals composed, produced and performed entirely by Summers at his studio, Mother Divine, in Venice, California. Metal Dog features his iconic guitar sound layered with multiple instruments including bass, drums, keyboards, electronics and a Paloma (an Indian stringed instrument that depresses notes along the neck with accordion like buttons).

“My original inspiration for this was music for contemporary dance, which still holds,” Summers said. “But as I got further into the music, it became a thing unto itself til it presented as a collection for a release, but definitely it scores by experimental music.”

Summers’ film, Can’t Stand Losing You: Surviving the Police, is based on his memoir, One Train Later. The film, which was theatrically released earlier this year, was directed by Andy Grieve and follows Summers’ journey from the London music scene to his chance encounter with drummer Stewart Copeland and bassist Sting.

The film is distributed in North America by Cinema Libre Studio and is available on DVD, Blu-ray, and On Demand (Hulu Plus, Amazon Instant, iTunes).

For more about Summers, visit

Metal Dog Track List:

1. Metal Dog

2. Animal Chatter

3. Ishango Bone

4. Vortex Street

5. Bitter Honey

6. Qualia

7. How Long is Now

8. Harmonograph

9. Ocean of Enceladus

10. Mare Imbrium