You Think You Really Know Me: The Gary Wilson Story DVD & CD - In Stores June 17th!

He made a masterpiece, and then he disappeared...Championed by the likes of Beck and Matt Groening and obsessed over by record collectors everywhere, Gary Wilson's album, You Think You Really Know Me, is widely considered one of the most unique and personal musical statements of the 1970s. Inspired by its 2002 reissue, director Michael Wolk set out to learn more about the man behind this esoteric record, only to find that its creator had all but vanished shortly after its original release, making for a story just as interesting and peculiar as the album for which he's known. You Think You Really Know Me: The Gary Wilson Story is a look at the fascinating yet bittersweet life of a musician and artist well ahead of his time and ripe for rediscovery.
Publish date:
Updated on

Plexifilm's You Think You Really Know Me: The Gary Wilson Story DVD &CD Setincludes Michael Wolk's critically acclaimed documentary AND Gary Wilson's classic, out-of-print 1977 album, plus DVD extras including ten 1970s-era 8mm and 16mm short films starring Gary Wilson and the Blind Dates, with optional director commentary and newly-recorded soundtracks.

"In 1977, a 24-year-old musician from Endicott, NY released a wonderful, odd album, combining elements of pop, proto new wave, jazz, avant-garde composition and electronic music, alternately sweet and angst ridden, about the women in his life and his fantasies..." - The New York Times

"You don't have to really know anything about Gary Wilson or his recordings to get engrossed in this surprisingly sweet little documentary" - City Pages

"Gary Wilson's deliciously obscure 1977 lounge-funk album...came complete with a forgotten auteur whose story was just as ripe for appropriation as the music in the record's grooves. A-,


TITLE You Think You Really Know Me: The Gary Wilson Story
DIRECTOR Michael Wolk
USA, 2008, 74 minutes (+39 minutes of extras), color, 8mm, 16mm, video, 1.33:1 (original ratio), English
Catalog # PLX-032 UPC: 082354004422 Price: $24.99
You Think You Really Know Me CD Tracklist:
1. Another Time I Could Have Loved You
2. You Keep on Looking
3. 6.4= Make Out
4. When You Walk into My Dreams
5. Loneliness
6. Cindy
7. You Were Too Good to Be True
8. Groovy Girls Make Love at the Beach
9. I Wanna Lose Control
10. You Think You Really Know Me
11. Chromium Bitch
12. And Then I Kissed Your Lips