Rhino's Double-CD The UFO Has Landed: The Ry Cooder Anthology

 Includes 34 Songs From The Virtuoso Guitarist's Eclectic Career Available October 28 From Rhino RecordsLOS ANGELES -- Rhino takes a joy ride through Ry Cooder's prolific career with a two-CD collection of his work as a solo artist and soundtrack composer. On October 28, THE UFO HAS LANDED: THE RY COODER ANTHOLOGY will be available at all retail outlets, including www.rhino.com  , for a suggested list price of $29.98. The collection will also be available the same day at all digital outlets for a suggested list price of $16.99.
Image placeholder title

Produced by Cooder's son, Joachim, the 34-song compilation offers a fresh look at Cooder's musical career, spanning 38 years--from his eponymous 1970 debut to this year's I, Flathead--and includes the previously unreleased version of "Let's Work Together." featuring accordion player Buckwheat Zydeco, drummer Jim Keltner, pianist Jim Dickinson and bassist Mike Elizondo. Along with his solo work, THE UFO HAS LANDED features selections from Cooder's film soundtracks, including the themes from Southern
Comfort and Paris, Texas.

THE UFO HAS LANDED: THE RY COODER ANTHOLOGY collects Cooder's most memorable cuts from his solo albums, including "Maria Elena," "Jesus On The Mainline," "Boomer's Story," "I Got Mine" and "Available Space." The latter, a Cooder original on his debut, got its name from the album's producer Van Dyke Parks, who saw the words on an empty billboard on the way to the studio.

Track Listing

Disc One
1. "Get Rhythm"
2. "Low Commotion"
3. "Available Space"
4. "On A Monday"
5. "Do Re Mi"
6. "Which Came First"
7. "The Very Thing That Makes You Rich (Makes Me Poor)"
8. "Down In Hollywood"
9. "Smells Like Money"
10. "Let's Work Together"*
11. "I Got Mine"
12. "Cherry Ball Blues"
13. "Jesus On The Mainline"
14. "Tattler"
15. "Teardrops Will Fall"
16. "Maria Elena"
17. "Jesse James"

Disc Two
1. "Paris, Texas"
2. "Theme From Southern Comfort"
3. "Tamp 'Em Up Solid"
4. "Billy The Kid"
5. "Crazy 'Bout An Automobile (Every Woman I Know)"
6. "Drive Like I Never Been Hurt"
7. "Feelin' Bad Blues"
8. "Boomer's Story"
9. "How Can You Keep Moving (Unless You Migrate Too)"
10. "Alimony"
11. "Always Lift Him Up/Kanaka Wai"
12. "Theme From Alamo Bay"
13. "Dark End Of The Street"
14. "Why Don't You Try Me"
15. "Poor Man's Shangri-La"
16. "Going Back To Okinawa"
17. "Little Sister"

*Previously unreleased

# # #

The UFO Has Landed: The Ry Cooder Anthology

Listening Party Track list:
1. Low Commotion
2. Let’s Work Together
3. On A Monday
4. Maria Elena
5. Down In Hollywood
6. Paris, Texas
7. Theme From Southern Comfort
8. Billy The Kid
9. Why Don’t You Try Me
10. Going Back To Okinawa

To listen with Quicktime click here.

To listen with Windows Media click here.

To listen with Real Media click here.