Mike Stern: Prizewinner of the Miles Davis Award

The Festival International de Jazz de Montréal give this year the prestigious Miles Davis Award to renowned guitarist Mike Stern. He will be given the prize by André Ménard, artistic director, first vice-president and co-founder of the Festival, at a press briefing which will be held this afternoon at 2 p.m. in the Salon Mont-Royal of the Hyatt Regency Montréal.
Publish date:
Updated on

Mike Stern becomes the 14th winner of the Miles Davis Award, which was created for the 15th edition of the Festival to recognize internationally acclaimed jazz artists whose body of work has contributed significantly to the renewal of the genre.

Pioneer guitarist of his generation, Mike Stern has played with the greats, including Miles Davis, Jaco Pastorius, Michael Brecker, Bill Evans, and Pat Metheny, to name but a few. He recorded his first album as band leader in 1985, and in 2006, released his 13th, Who Let the Cats Out. Beyond classification and forever reinventing himself, guitarist of legendary talent, Mike Stern will host the first part of the prestigious Invitation Alcan series, honouring us with a five-evening glimpse at his career, at Théâtre Jean Duceppe in PdA, from June 28 to July 2, at 7:30 p.m. _ Mike Stern plays with the bands! with The Bad Plus and Yellowjackets (June 28), the guitar virtuoso opens the series accompanied by two legendary jazz groups. _ A Miles Davis Tribute: Four Generations of Miles with George Coleman (alto saxophone, 1963 1964), Jimmy Cobb (drums, 1957 1963), Buster Williams (double bass, 1967 1968) and Mike Stern (guitar, 1981 1983 1985) (June 29), Mike Stern from his Miles period, but also a tribute to an immortal on the 75th anniversary of his birth. _ Mike Stern's Invitation SuperGroup with Danilo Perez, John Patitucci and Dave Weckl (June 30), fully deserving of the SuperGroup label, these players bring uncommon gifts-and high voltage-to piano, bass, drums and guitar! _ The Power of the Trio with Billy Cobham, Alain Caron and Mike Stern (July 1), in which three really is a magic number: longstanding musical confederacy generates inspired creativity. _ Finally (July 2), a swing-night between the two stages of the Invitation Alcan series, when Mike Stern passes the baton to-and shares the stage with-exceptional Cameroon-born New York bassist Richard Bona in a hotly-anticipated meeting! Stern and Bona are old pals from excellent albums and concerts together, and when you add in a third ace… it's Mike Stern and Richard Bona with their very special guest Roy Hargrove!

Mike Stern is the latest in a series of Miles-Davis prizewinners. He follows Brad Mehldau (2006), Dave Holland (2005), Keith Jarrett (2004), Joe Zawinul (2003), Chick Corea (2002), Michael Brecker (2001), Charlie Haden (2000), Cassandra Wilson (1999), John Scofield (1998), Herbie Hancock (1997), Wayne Shorter (1996), Pat Metheny (1995) and John McLaughlin (1994).