Guitar Superstar 2009

 Guitar Superstar 2009 was an amazing showcase of great guitar playing. The contest, which was held at the Bankhead Theater in Livermore, CA, was won very deservedly by Steve Senes. But everyone who played that night—including first and second runners-up Krisz Simonfalvi and Brian Davidson, and contestants Dave Benziger, Hercules Castro, Brodie Cumming, Danny Jones, Steve Langemo, Doug Towle, and Jeff Zampillo—turned in inspired performances. 

All of us at GP were super impressed by how well everyone played under the immense pressure of being scrutinized by judges Steve Lukather, Jennifer Batten, Elliot Easton, Earl Slick, and Greg Hampton—not to mention the audience at the sold-out show, who seemed to appreciate every minute of it. Here they stand cheering winner Steve Senes during the awards ceremony. A fine ending to fun night!