Established and Up and Coming Talent Win Top Honors In The 4th Annual Independent Music Awards

At a time when record numbers of musicians are working to advance their careers without major label support, Music Resource Group (MRG) announced the winners of its 4th Annual Independent Music Awards (IMAs), a program that provides increased exposure for Independent music by developing new markets for independent artists, labels and releases.
Publish date:
Updated on

The winners range from artists with established credits including Darrell Scott (Album Of The Year) and Chris Whitley (Blues/R&B); to bands with growing fan bases like 2004 OzzFest opener Lacuna Coil (Hard Rock/Metal), the recent Grammy® nominated Angel Melendez & the 911 Mambo Orchestra (Latin), Rachael Sage (Folk/Singer-Songwriter) and Shamra (Pop/Rock).

"IMA winners and finalists are on the forefront of a movement that is verging on truly democratizing the music business. These talented and entrepreneurial artists are leaders of a new music revolution," said Martin Folkman, IMA Program Director.

This year’s celebrity judging panel included Delbert McClinton, Erykah Badu, Loudon Wainwright III, William Ackerman, Victor L. Wooton and Alan Light. The Design category panel included Jeri Heiden, Merri Cyr, Spencer Drate & Judith Salavetz.

Past IMA judges include: Tom Waits, Ray Davies, Amy Ray, Lou Reed, Arturo Sandoval, Aimee Mann, Steve Vai, DJ Spooky, Eileen Ivers, Ben Folds, Ricky Skaggs, Me'shell Ndegeocello, Joan Baez, Don Byron, Mickey Hart, Rosanne Cash, Mavis Staples, Jose Feliciano, Kenny Aronoff, Tina Weymouth, Jimmy Cliff, John Medeski, Joshua Redman, Joe Henry and Robbie Fulks.

MRG, publisher of the music industry contact directory, The Musician’s Atlas and the interactive AtlasOnline, has developed a coordinated campaign that will direct more than six million music industry professionals and music fans to two IMA Jukeboxes at and

While there, listeners can stream tracks from all of the music category winners and hyperlink to the artists’ websites. The winners albums will soon be available for purchase through and as digital downloads.

For more information, check out