Guitar Aficionado

Ronnie Montrose Tribute Show — Featuring Joe Satriani and Sammy Hagar — Coming to DVD in December

Publish date:
Updated on
Image placeholder title

When Ronnie Montrose died March 3, 2012, friends and musicians wondered what they could do to pay homage to one of rock's most influential guitarists.

The result was a tribute concert that April, dubbed Concert for Ronnie Montrose: A Celebration of His Life In Music. Now the concert is coming to DVD on December 10.

Recorded in San Francisco at the Regency Ballroom and mixed in 5.1 surround sound, the DVD features performance by Montrose's past band members in Montrose (Sammy Hagar, Denny Carmassi, Bill Church with Joe Satriani), Gamma (Davey Pattison, Denny Carmassi and Glenn Letsch with Marc Bonilla), performing both groups' songs.

Montrose's colleagues and people he mentored and produced during his 40-year career are featured, including Neal Schon (Journey), Ricky Phillips (Styx), Steve Smith (ex-Journey), Ed Roth, Jimmy Paxson (Stevie Nicks), Jeff Watson (ex-Night Ranger), Tesla, Eric Singer and Tommy Thayer (Kiss), Eric Martin (Mr. Big), and more.

The DVD will also include interviews, bonus features, a photo gallery, and an additional set of Montrose's hits by an all-star band featuring Chuck Terpo, Mario Cipollina, Tal Morris, Dave Meniketti and the members of Y&T. This was recorded and filmed at Bob Weir's TRI Studios.

For more information, visit

DVD Track Listing

01. Overture
02. Open Fire
03. Town Without Pity
04. I Don't Want It
05. Little Suzi
06. One Thing On My Mind
07. Free Ride
08. Frankenstein
09. Thunder And Lightning
10. Razor King
11. No Tears
12. Ready For Action
13. Fight To The Finish
14. Voyager
15. Lighthouse
16. One And A Half
17. Good Rockin' Tonight
18. Rock The Nation
19. Make It Last
20. Bad Motor Scooter
21. Rock Candy
22. Space Station No. 5
23. Connection

01. Good Rockin' Tonight
02. Rock Candy
03. Oh No You Don't
04. Paper Money
05. Wild Night