Guitar Aficionado

Justin Hayward to Release New Album, 'Spirits of the Western Sky,' February 26

Image placeholder title

Moody Blues lead guitarist, singer and songwriter Justin Hayward will release a new solo album, Spirits Of The Western Sky, on February 26 through Eagle Records.

The new album, which was recorded in Genoa, Italy, and Nashville, will be Hayward’s first solo album since 1996’s The View From The Hill. The album promises plenty of Hayward's trademark guitar and vocals, plus three country- and bluegrass-influenced songs.

It also features orchestrations by Academy Award-winning composer Anne Dudley.

“Anne is one of the true greats, in the same rarefied class of orchestrators as Peter Knight, who was such an inspiration in my early Moody Blues days," Hayward said. "I’ve worked with Anne on different projects over the years, and it’s always a joy. I also co-wrote a song with my friend Kenny Loggins. He and I were on the road and staying in the same hotel. We had a great day playing guitar together and we came up with "On The Road To Love." Kenny plays and sings on the track with me."

For more about Hayward, check out his official website.

Spirits Of The Western Sky track listing:

01. In Your Blue Eyes
02. One Day, Someday
03. The Western Sky
04. The Eastern Sun
05. On The Road To Love
06. Lazy Afternoon
07. In The Beginning
08. It’s Cold Outside Of Your Heart
09. What You Resist Persists
10. Broken Dream
11. Captivated By You
12. One Day, Someday (Alternative Extended Version)
13. Rising
14. Out There Somewhere
15. Out There Somewhere (Raul Rincon Remix)