Guitar Aficionado

A Long-Out-Of-Print Doors Compilation Gets Reissued

‘Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine’ set for May 19 release.
Publish date:
Updated on

By Christopher Scapelliti

The Doors compilation Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine was a hit upon its release in 1972. It was the first Doors album to be issued following the July 3, 1971, death of lead singer Jim Morrison.

Image placeholder title

But despite its success, the album has remained out of print, save for a limited-edition vinyl pressing of the album issued on Record Store Day 2014, which promptly sold out.

On May 19, the album will finally see release as a double CD and digital download. All 22 of its tracks have been remastered by longtime Doors’ engineer Bruce Botnick.

The 22 songs that appear on Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine provide a wide-ranging introduction to the music recorded between 1967 and 1971 by the original quartet of Morrison, guitarist Robby Krieger, keyboardist Ray Manzarek, and drummer John Densmore.

Mixing familiar cuts and deep tracks from the band's six studio albums, Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine touches on everything from hits like "Break On Through" "Love Her Madly," and "L.A. Woman" to unexpected delights like "The Spy" from Morrison Hotel and "Running Blue" from The Soft Parade.

Adding yet another dimension to the album's track list is the inclusion of two stellar B-sides: "Who Scared You" which appeared in March 1969 as the flipside to "Wishful Sinful," and a cover of Willie Dixon's "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further," which was paired with the smash "Love Her Madly" in 1971.