Tom Morello, Tim McIlrath, Serj Tankian Release Free Download of "We Are The 99%"

September 28, 2012
imgTom Morello, Tim McIlrath of Rise Against, and Serj Tankian of System of a Down today released a new song celebrating the recent one-year anniversary of Occupy Wall Street that's available for free download at "We Are The 99%" was produced by Tom Morello and written by Morello, Tim McIlrath and Anne Preven.
Tom Morello stated, "We Are The 99%" is a song inspired by the global Occupy movement. I wanted to capture the excitement and energy of people fighting for change and make sure the song was free to anyone who wants it. Brothers in arms Tim McIlrath (from Rise Against) and Serj Tankian (from System Of A Down) lent their amazing talents to the song and we incorporated chants from the original Occupy Wall Street encampment in Zuccotti Park as well. It's my hope that songs like this will provide a rocking soundtrack for those who have a vision of a more just planet and strengthen their resolve to fight on."
In 2002 Tom Morello and Serj Tankian of System of A Down formed Axis of Justice. The organization's purpose is to bring together musicians, music fans, and grassroots political organizations to fight for social justice. More information can be found at
"We Are The 99%":
-Written by Tom Morello, Tim McIlrath, Anne Preven
-Performed by Tom Morello (Vocals, Guitar), Tim McIlrath (Vocals), Serj Tankian (Vocals), Occupy Wall Street (Vocals), The Freedom Fighter Orchestra: Carl Restivo (Guitar, Backing Vocals), Dave Gibbs (Bass, Backing Vocals), Eric Gardner (Drums), Anne Preven (Background Vocals)
-Produced by Tom Morello at Veritas Studios, Los Angeles, CA. Tim McIlrath vocals   produced by Bill Stevenson & Jon Dunleavy.
-Engineered by Kevin Mills
-Mixed By Ryan Williams
-Mastered by Paul Grundman 
Keep up-to-date on the latest news
Get our Free Newsletter Here!


comments powered by Disqus


Reader Poll

What’s the one pedal you can’t live without?

See results without voting »