The Richard Thompson Band 'Live at Celtic Connections' Due Jan. 31 on DVD/Blue Ray

January 5, 2012
imgEagle Rock Entertainment is proud to issue The Richard Thompson Band Live At Celtic Connections on DVD and Blu-ray on January 31, 2012. His first live concert DVD in over five years, as well as his very first Blu-ray release in his 40-year career, is certainly worth the wait. [Pre-book Order Date January 6, MSRP $14.98 for DVD, $19.98 for Blu-ray]
Rolling Stone Magazine recently listed Thompson as one of the "100 Greatest Guitarists Of All Time". Indeed, since his halcyon days with Fairport Convention in the '60s, his astute and unerring fingerpicking combined with his Celtic roots and dramatic flair has made his solo career a totally fascinating journey. Here, with his world-class band (Michael Jerome, drums; Taras Prodaniuk, bass; Joel Zifkin, violin/mandolin; Pete Zorn, guitar/flute/saxophone/mandolin), he revisits that entire journey in a 20-song two-hour and 25-minute set.
Recorded in DTS Surround Sound, Dolby Digital 5.1 and Dolby Digital Stereo, and filmed in high-definition, Live At Celtic Connections took place in January of 2011 at the Royal Concert Hall in Glasgow. Performing at the annual Celtic Connections festival, Thompson was touring in support of his brilliant Dream Attic album. He focuses the first half of his set on Dream Attic, while using the second half to dig deep into his almost bottomless well of creativity, dating back to his very first solo album in 1972, Henry The Human Fly. His acerbic lyrics are sung in that instantly-identifiable voice, a voice that has weathered the years beautifully and soulfully, a voice that commands respect.
Bonus features include two extra songs filmed at the 2011 Cambridge Folk Festival: "Uninhabited Man" and "Johnny's Far Away."
Track Listing:
1) The Money Shuffle
2) Among The Gorse, Among The Grey
3) Haul Me Up
4) Burning Man
5) Here Comes Geordie
6) Demons In Her Dancing Shoes
7) Big Sun Falling In The River
8) Stumble On
9) Sidney Wells
10) A Brother Slips Away
11) If Love Whispers Your Name
12) The Angels Took My Racehorse Away
13) Can't Win
14) One Door Opens
15) Al Bowlly's In Heaven
16) I'll Never Give It Up
17) Wall Of Death
18) Tear Stained Letter
19) Take Care The Road You Choose
20) A Man In Need 
Keep up-to-date on the latest news
Get our Free Newsletter Here!


comments powered by Disqus


Reader Poll

What’s the one pedal you can’t live without?

See results without voting »