Steve Earle To Release ‘Ill Never Get Out of This World Alive April 26th via New West Records

January 24, 2011

Steve Earle is set to release I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive on April 26th via New West Records. The album is the anticipated follow up to the Grammy Award winning 2009 release Townes. The 11-track set was produced by T Bone Burnett and is Earle's first collection of original material since his 2007 Grammy Award winning, Washington Square Serenade. I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive will be available as a single compact disc, deluxe CD/DVD set, digitally, as well as 180 gram vinyl.
Writing for I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive began three years ago, the longest span of any song cycle in Steve Earle's career. The first two compositions were "God Is God" and "I Am A Wanderer," two songs written by Earle for Joan Baez' 2008 album, Day After Tomorrow (which Earle also produced). The album also includes the celebrated song "This City," written for the HBO Original Series, Treme, which Earle also appeared in as an actor. This year, Earle will be reprising his role of Harley during many episodes of Treme's second season. "This City" features horn arrangements by Allen Toussaint and has garnered a Grammy Award Nomination in the Best Song Written for Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media Category. Additionally, the song also garnered Earle's first Emmy Award nomination in the Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics Category. I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive also features "Heaven or Hell," a duet with Earle's wife, the critically acclaimed singer-songwriter Allison Moorer.

"They are all, as far as I can tell, about mortality in one way or the other; death as a mystery rather than a punctuation mark or at least, a comma rather than a period," Earle comments on the songs in the album liner notes.
Earle's long anticipated debut novel of the same name, I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive, will be published on May 12th by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. The novel imagines the troubled life of Doc Ebersole as he is haunted by the ghost of his former patient and friend, Hank Williams.  Thomas Cobb, author of Crazy Heart, stated "This is an impressive debut novel. The characters are unforgettable, and the plot moves like a fast train. A fantastic mixture of hard reality and dark imagination." The title of both Steve Earle's new album and debut novel is taken from the Hank Williams song by the same name; the last single released during his lifetime in 1952. 
After many years of touring solo and acoustically worldwide, Steve Earle will be touring in support of the album with his highly celebrated, electric live band The Dukes.
A protégé of legendary songwriters Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark, Earle quickly became a master storyteller in his own right, with his songs being recorded by Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Emmylou Harris, Waylon Jennings, Travis Tritt, The Pretenders, Joan Baez and countless others. 1986 saw the release of his debut record, Guitar Town, which shot to number one on the country charts and immediately established the term "New Country." What followed was an extremely exciting and varied array of releases including the biting hard rock of Copperhead Road (1988), the minimalist beauty of Train A Comin' (1995), the politically charged masterpiece, Jerusalem (2002), and the Grammy Award Winning albums The Revolution Starts...Now (2004), Washington Square Serenade (2007) and Townes (2009).  I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive is Steve Earle's 14th Studio Album.
I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive Track Listing:
1. Waitin' On The Sky
2. Little Emperor
3. The Gulf of Mexico
4. Molly - O
5. God is God
6. Meet Me In The Alleyway
7. Every Part of Me
8. Lonely Are The Free
9. Heaven or Hell (with Allison Moorer)
10. I Am A Wanderer
11. This City
For more information, please visit: and

Keep up-to-date on the latest news
Get our Free Newsletter Here!


comments powered by Disqus


Reader Poll

What’s the one pedal you can’t live without?

See results without voting »