Robin Trower 'Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-1983' Due March 13

February 3, 2012
Following hot on the heels of last year’s A Tale Untold: The Chrysalis Years 1973-1976 (Robin Trower’s first anthology of the albums produced for Chrysalis Records), comes the companion collection, Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-1983.
Featuring a further six whole albums, this second volume collects together the remaining releases Robin recorded for the label, including two LP made with Cream’s legendary bassist and vocalist, Jack Bruce.  This 3CD set kicks off with 1977’s In City Dreams, which now features the 7” single edit of Bluebird, available on CD for the first time, followed by Caravan to Midnight from 1978. Next up is 1979’s Victims of the Fury, which now includes the rare b-side ‘One In A Million’. B.L.T., the first of two albums to feature Jack Bruce, was released in 1981, which was swiftly followed the following year by the album Truce.
The set is completed by Back It Up, the sixth album on this release (as well as his eleventh and last LP for Chrysalis) was originally released in 1983, and sees the return of Robin’s long term collaborator Jimmy Dewar, on bass and vocals.
Disc One
In City Dreams (Chrysalis CHR-1148 1977)
1. Somebody Calling
2. Sweet Wine Of Love
3. Bluebird
4. Falling Star
5. Farther On Up The Road
6. Smile
7. Little Girl
8. Love's Gonna Bring You Round
9. In City Dreams
10. Bluebird (7" Edit) (Dewar/ Trower) Chrysalis Music Ltd. Item No: C10146 Barcode: AB 0206411
Caravan To Midnight (Chrysalis CHR-1189 1978)
11. My Love (Burning Love)
12. Caravan To Midnight
13. I'm Out To Get You
14. Lost In Love
15. Fool
16. It's For You
17. Birthday Boy
18. King Of The Dance
19. Sail On
Disc Two
Victims Of The Fury (Chrysalis CHR-1215 1979)
1. Jack And Jill
2. Roads To Freedom
3. Victims Of The Fury
4. The Ring
5. Only Time
6. Into The Flame
7. The Shout
8. Mad House
9. Ready For The Taking
10. Fly Low
11. One In A Million (b-side) Item No: C08345 Barcode: AB 0206473
 B.L.T. - featuring Jack Bruce (CHR 1324 - 1981)
13. Into Money
14. What It Is
15. Won't Let You Down
16. No Island Lost
17. It's Too Late
18. Life On Earth 3:42 
19. Once The Bird Has Flown 4:00 
20. Carmen 3:39
21. Feel The Heat 2:51
22. End Game 5:13
Disc Three
Truce - featuring Jack Bruce (Chrysalis CHR 1352 - 1982)
1. Gonna Shut You Down 3:03 
2. Gone Too Far 3:48 
3. Thin Ice 3:40 
4. Last Train To The Stars 3:21 
5. Take Good Care Of Yourself 4:45 
6. Fall In Love 2:40 
7. Fat Gut 3:22 
8. Shadows Touching 4:29
9. Little Boy Lost 3:33 
 Back It Up (Chrysalis CHR-1420 1983)
10. Back It Up 3:54
11. River 3:52
12. Black To Red 2:57 
13. Benny Dancer 8:53 
14. Time Is Short 3:40 
15. Islands 4:04 
16. None But The Brave 2:37 
17. Captain Midnight 3:10 
18. Settling The Score 5:16
Keep up-to-date on the latest news
Get our Free Newsletter Here!


comments powered by Disqus


Reader Poll

How Often Do You Change Your Strings?

See results without voting »