Joe Bonamassas New Solo Album Dust Bowl Out Now

March 23, 2011

0.000.aaadustbowlDust Bowl (J&R Adventures),the new album from multi-talented blues-rock guitar hero, singer-songwriter and Billboard's #1 Blues Artist Joe Bonamassa was released Mar. 22. In honor of the release, fans can get a free download of the first single "Dust Bowl" at

Dust Bowl was recorded in sessions at Black Rock Studios in Santorini, Greece; Ben's Studio in Nashville, TN; The Cave in Malibu, CA and The Village in Los Angeles, CA.

It combines the gritty, blues-based tones of Bonamassa's first albums with the fluid, genre-defying sounds he's mastered in the years since and adds a dash of country from Joe's collaborations with the best of Nashville including legends Vince Gill and John Hiatt.

The album opener "Slow Train" "explodes into a fusion of gritty blues and hard rock; Joe's blistering guitar and falsetto create both a haunting and electrifying start to an exquisite album," says American Blues Scene. Other tunes such as "No Love On The Street," "Prisoner," and "The Meaning of the Blues" "play like epics," says The Dallas Morning News.

Standout originals include the "stomping blues" tune "Black Lung Heartache," the "moving" "The Last Matador of Bayonne," and "The Whale That Swallowed Jonah."

Bonamassa duets with Hiatt and trades licks with Gill on the John Hiatt/John Porter-penned "Tennessee Plates" which The Sun calls a "country romp." Other album collaborators include Bonamassa's Black Country Communion bandmate Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple) who lends his legendary voice to the Paul Rodgers song "Heartbreaker." Beth Hart and Blondie Chaplin can be heard on Michael Kamen/Tim Curry's desperate blues track "No Love On The Street."

Last month Bonamassa kicked off the first leg of his North American tour. He heads next to Europe, Asia and Australia, makes a quick stop back in the U.S. for a summer tour with his hard-rock band Black Country Communion, and then heads back out for more dates in Europe. Fall European, U.K. and U.S. tour dates will be announced soon.

Dust Bowl Tracklisting:

1. Slow Train
2. Dust Bowl
3. Tennessee Plates (feat. John Hiatt)
4. The Meaning Of The Blues
5. Black Lung Heartache
6. You Better Watch Yourself
7. The Last Matador Of Bayonne
8. Heartbreaker (feat. Glenn Hughes)
9. No Love On The Street (feat. Beth Hart)
10. The Whale That Swallowed Jonah
11. Sweet Rowena (feat. Vince Gill)
12. Prisoner

Keep up-to-date on the latest news
Get our Free Newsletter Here!


comments powered by Disqus


Reader Poll

What’s the one pedal you can’t live without?

See results without voting »