mobile ad
mobile ad

Hot Club of Cowtown announces new album, U.S. tour

February 28, 2013
share
imgHot Club of Cowtown’s new Lloyd Maines-produced release, Rendezvous in Rhythm, out May 28, 2013 on Gold Strike Records, is an exuberant collection of Gypsy songs and American Songbook standards played acoustically and recorded in the hot jazz style of legendary violin and guitar masters Stephane Grappelli and Django Reinhardt. Recorded last July at the Zone Recording Studio in Dripping Springs, Texas, it’s the Hot Club’s first-ever dedicated foray into the Gypsy jazz and French swing of Paris in the ’30s and features the band’s sparkling spins on standards in the style of Reinhardt and Grappelli including “Crazy Rhythm,” “Minor Swing,” “Dark Eyes,” “The Continental,” “I'm in the Mood for Love,” “Douce Ambiance,” and many more.
 
You’d think a band from Austin, Texas with the word “Cowtown” in its name spends its time off from touring herding cattle at a West Texas ranch or maybe in Nashville writing songs about whiskey and loose women. Not the Hot Club of Cowtown. “We recently took a band vacation to the Gypsy Festival at St. Maries de la Mer in the South of France,” says the band’s fiddler and vocalist, Elana James. Whit Smith, Hot Club’s guitar player and vocalist, is a regular at the prestigious Djangofest Northwest in Whidbey, Island, Washington, and bass player Jake Erwin has the Hungarian folk band Csokolom in regular rotation on his home stereo. Find out more at www.hotclubofcowtown.com.
 
TOUR DATES

Fri., March 1 FORT WORTH, TX Live Oak Music Hall 9 PM 
Sat., March 2  BLUE RIDGE, TX Branscombe Hall 
Wed., March 6 AUSTIN, TX Continental Club
Wed., March 13  AUSTIN, TX Continental Club
Sat., March 16 GRUENE, TX Gruene Hall 1-5 p.m.
Wed., March 20 AUSTIN, TX Continental Club
Fri.,, March 22 PROVO, UT BYU Department of Dance
Wed., March 27 AUSTIN, TX Continental Club
Tues., April 9 VIENNA, VA Jammin’ Java 
Wed., April 10 WILMINGTON, DE Grand opera house 
Thurs., 11 NEW YORK, NY Joe’s Pub 
Fri., 12 MARBLEHEAD, MA (BOSTON) Me and Thee Coffeehouse 
Sat., April 13 WHITE RIVER JUNCTION, VT Tupelo Music Hall 
Sun., April 14  TRURO, MA Payomet 
Fri., April 19 BURBANK, CA (LOS ANGELES) Joe’s Great American
Sat. & Sun., April 20 & 21 SANTA CLARITA, CA Cowboy Festival
Fri., May 3 GENOA, NV Cowboy Poetry Festival
Sat., May 4 RAMONA, CA  Ramona Bluegrass and Western Festival
Sun., May 5 SAN DIEGO, CA AMSD
Fri., May 17 EDWARDSVILLE , IL (ST. LOUIS) Wildey Theater
Sat., May 18 KANSAS CITY, MO Knuckleheads 
Sun., May 19 IOWA CITY, IA Englert Theater 
Tues., May 21 CHICAGO IL City Winery 
Wed., May 22 MINNEAPOLIS, MN Dakota Jazz Club
Thurs., May 23 WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI McMillan Memorial Library 
Sat., May 25 BLACK FOREST, CO MeadowGrass Music Festival
 
More dates at hotclubofcowtown.com/tour 
Alert to All Users of the Disqus commenting system:
Because of a recent global security issue, the Disqus website recommends that all users change their Disqus passwords. Here's a URL about the issue: http://engineering.disqus.com/2014/04/10/heartbleed.html

COMMENTS

comments powered by Disqus

Reader Poll

What's the gauge of your 1st string?







See results without voting »